WOW! I am so excited for all the amazing work I saw today during your time with PACE! For homework you will be writing atleast two, 5-8 sentence paragraphs describing your time spent with your Pace Mentors!
Your paragraph must include:
What progress had your group made before PACE came?
How productive has your group been during classtime?
What are 1-2 things that the PACE students helped you learn/better understand?
How did your team and the PACE group interact?
What could you do differently to ensure you are using your time wisely?
This is the last time PACE will be here to help you program. The next time they are here they will watch your dance-off. What would you like to tell them about their help and guidence through the process? How did they help? How did they inspire? How could they help more?
Please include anything else you learned/felt/saw/experienced during your time with your mentors!


***WARNING, WARNING, WARNING***
You must type your response in Microsoft Word first. Then, copy and paste into the comment box here. REREAD your response and check for correct spelling, puncutation, and complete sentences
Meaghan
11/17/2011 04:52:19 am

Me and my group have been productive, even though we've been working on moves and listening to our song, we have just been saving programming for the PACE mentors since we know that we need help with programming. We could use these last few weeks wisely by creating more moves. Our group has made a lot of progress with the PACE mentors today and we actually finished our moves!

I would like to thank our PACE mentors so much! Without them, we probably wouldn't have done, or even understand programming! We interacted great and had a really fun time learning from them. I personally felt that our group got the best PACE mentors ever! They really helped us with programming and how to work/operate our sensors. They helped me and my group by not just showing us how to do stuff, but explaining it too. They inspired me to try to help my group even more then I am now. I believe that though are group is good, we still need help on creating and programming more steps.

Reply
Charlotte
11/17/2011 04:58:13 am

My group had pretty good progress before PACE came. We had put a sound sensor and arm on the robot so when we clap it repeats its moves. My group has been pretty productive for the most part. We had some times where we were not focused as well but have a pretty good outcome. The PACE students were really good about showing us everything. Chris, a PACE student really helped us understand the programming and how to make the arm move. Yani, the other PACE student in our group really helped us to fix the robot so the back wheel would work. Our robot was tilted down instead of up and he helped us fix it so it would go up. My group and the PACE group interacted very well. We got to no each other really soon and had a great time.

I think we could use our time more wisely by talking less and working more. I would tell them “Thank You”, and that they helped us so much. They inspired us to double check the robot for any problems because there were a few. I don’t think they could help any more because they already helped us so much. I really enjoy working with PACE and mind storms.

Reply
Nicholas :]
11/17/2011 05:02:29 am

The progress that is team had was great and not so great. It was great because we fixed our dancing problem. Our dancing problem was that our robot would flip over and not run. The solution that we had to fix this mysterious problem was to attach a bigger wheel with suspension so when it flips it catches its self and keeps going. It was not so great because our mentors didn’t help us that much.
They didn’t help us that much because they were busy talking with some of the other mentors. Honestly speaking what I would tell our team mentors is that they inspired us to push ourselves to our limits. Also that they should step it up a notch and help next time. Even though they tried helping us it didn’t feel genuine. It felt like there just to get it over with.

Reply
Darren
11/17/2011 05:12:10 am

When pace came today, we programmed it to do dance moves. Not just any dance moves. I really enjoy the company of pace because they are total experts and great people to do this. Today was a bad and good day for our group. I will start with the bad. Sean in our group ACCIDENTALLY sat on our robot and broke. But we did not let that slow us down. Our group managed to fix it even better then before. We owe it all to pace for helping us out. I wish we would have pace come again. I enjoyed this chapter of science.

Reply
Hannah
11/17/2011 05:27:57 am

My group made a lot of progress before PACE came, it was relieving cause then you didn’t have to rush with PACE. My group has been really productive. We almost finished our programming we just couldn’t figure out the arm part (when we spun the arm in circles). One thing that PACE helped me understand was how to program because I was so confused with it. Another thing is that PACE showed me how to make the robot do things, especially when I used the sound sensor and you had to clap. My team and our mentors had so much fun we laughed and we also go a lot done.

We probably shouldn’t have laughed as much as we did. We probably could have stayed more focused than we were. I would tell my mentors that they are really nice and helpful because they helped make our group’s robot be really cool. They also helped a lot. They helped by helping us figure out struggles, work as a group and get a lot done. They inspired me because they really kept on saying to my group if you put your mind to it you can do it and we got a lot done. They could help more by telling us a little more about the programming and how to do it. I also thought the mentors were really nice and helped a lot.

Reply
gilly
11/17/2011 05:46:26 am

My group did very little progress with programming because we were not so sure, what the name for the hand was. We tried so many things and they all failed miserably. We had just the robot waiting for fifteen seconds. We made the robot nicely but we were having trouble with the programming. They showed us that for our song doing things by the seconds is a lot easier than using rotations. The other thing that they showed us is that the light censer would be a good idea for the part in cha, cha slide were they say cha, cha it would go and do free style.
The way we interacted is that we would say what we need help with we would tell them and they will help us. One thing that I can do differently is that we do the whole dance then we test it on the robot and do some tweaks. I wish that we can have one more time with pace but I am happy they showed us the basics to programming. They helped us with choosing the dance moves for the dance. What I hope for that in the next time we have Lego robotics Matt dose not leave the group because when pace was here he left to go to another group 3 times.

Reply
Ava
11/17/2011 06:56:55 am

I had a great time with my mentors and my Lego group today. Before pace came my group only had about half the song done. During class time my group was very productive. We matched the dance to the music and the robots look. The pace students helped us understand how to perfect the dance by doing some tricks.

In the beginning,when they just got there,we branched out on our own but towards the end they helped us program. We can maybe start off quicker so we can experiment with the programs. I'd like to thank them for helping us get one step closer to wining. They taught us how to program. They really showed us that we could do something that involves technology and Lego fun. I think we would have liked to learn as a group is how to make the robot do tricks and what not.

Reply
Dante
11/17/2011 07:32:16 am

Our group had started programing the robot and we were pretty far in to finishing programing. Our group wasn't that productive at the beginning but I think now we are very productive. The pace students helped us over come the obstacle of our robot falling over because it was jerking forward and backwards to fast by helping us figure out that we needed a bigger back wheel and helping us build it. They also helped us figure out something we could do with sensors.
At first it was a little strange but then we warmed up to each other and they were very helpful. Talk less and staying on topic is something my group (me, Marcus, and Nick) could work on. I think they were extremely helpful we would have never figured out how to get our robot to not fall over when it moved fast without them. Overall I think our mentors were really terrific and super helpful :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) !!!!

Reply
Delia
11/17/2011 07:52:59 am

I am very glad that PACE came because my group did not really know what we should do. My group had a few things programmed, but we did not know what to do next in our dance. Luckily the PACE students helped us with our robot’s next dance move. In class, my group tried to sort out the problems with our robot, but we didn’t know what to program. The PACE students helped my group figure out what sensor to use and how to use it. They also helped us with some of the dance moves that we had trouble programming. My group and the PACE group interacted by talking about Hakuna Matata, our song choice for the dance off.

We could do some things differently to ensure that my group is not wasting any time. We should have gone right to the point at the beginning instead of waiting around awkwardly wondering what to do. When the PACE students came they really helped fix all of the problems that my groups had before the race and the dance off. They really know what they are doing. The PACE students today really helped us with the sensors and the robot arm. They helped program the dance moves that we didn’t know how to do. They could help a little more by telling us exactly what they are doing so that we know what to do later on.

Reply
Cassidy
11/17/2011 08:06:47 am

Before PACE came we put an arm on, and we put on an sound sensor. Are group is very productive. We all help eachother and get things done. One thing that a PACE student helped me understand better is programming the robot. My group and the PACE students interacted well. They were all really nice. One thing that we could do differently is deffinitely test the robot less, because our group spent a lot of time testing it when we should of been programming it or making it better. They helped us by programming some of it and helped us put on a new sensor. I would like to tell them that they really helped my group and that their guidence was great, and they inspired me to make our robot better.

Reply
Sean S
11/17/2011 08:08:51 am

My group has made a lot of progress; actually tomorrow we are going to Mr.Katzman to record our song. My group compared to the last group is a lot more productive, we are actually able to get are work done. The P.A.C.E students didn’t really didn’t teach us much. But they helped us with a lot of programming. All of us interacted like best buddies with the P.A.C.E students. One thing we could do more wisely is not throw a random ball around that we found on the ground. Well they could help more by not texting constantly. One thing I would tell them about their guidance is they should have more.

Reply
Sophia
11/17/2011 08:13:53 am

On November 17, 2011 the PACE students came to our school. Before the PACE students came my group, the Polka Dot Cows, we were on the programming step. We could not figure how to get our dance move from the paper to the screen. In class time we tried lots of different way to make the dance moves reality. When the PACE students came we spent the most time trying out different dances and moves. Yes, one or two times we had to put the robot back together but mostly it was programming.
I think that next time we should get right down to business. In the first ten-fifteen minutes we just sat around. I think that everyone worked together really well. I think that without the PACE student’s things could of gone way differently for both challenges. Another thing is that it got really exciting, at least for me, when the PACE students come. I wonder ‘Who will be in my group?’ ‘Will they help us a lot?’ It is a lot of suspense.

Reply
Erin
11/17/2011 08:20:17 am

My group was done with the first paragraph in our song before Pace came. My group is very productive in school. We get every thing we need to do done and sometimes more. One thing that the Pace students gave me was a better understanding of the sound sensor. They also taught us more about programming. They taught us how to work the sensors.

My group interacted with Pace very well. We had fun when we learned.
What we should do is, we should set an agenda and try to do everything we can. I also think that we should not listen to the song so many times and get a lot of the programming done. I think that they taught us a lot. I think that we still need help with the programming. I think we got a lot done and I can not wait for the Pace students to come again.

Reply
Austin
11/17/2011 08:34:01 am

Before PACE came to our school today 11/17/11 we were starting to do the steps to our song for the robot Dance Off. Our group has been very productive since the beginning of this challenge. We were productive by staying on task and not fooling around. One thing the PACE students helped us with technical errors such as making the robot moving its hand instead moving forward in the beginning of the song. Our group and the PACE students interacted very well because they new what to do to help us.


What our group could do to save time is to have two people building and two people programming. What I would like to tell the PACE students is that they were a big help and our group really appreciate it too. The students helped our group helped by fixing the arm on the robot to go into place and they helped us with how many rotations the arm should spin. They inspired us by giving us more ideas for our robot dance. Also the students could help us by giving us more ideas for how our robot should move.

Reply
Claire
11/17/2011 09:40:32 am

I think the PACE students were very helpful today. Helping us turn our robot, helping us move our arm fro a long enough time, and helping us with the sensors. I think we interacted pretty well. If there was one thing we could change, it would be that we could have checked it every time we had something to the program. Instead we should have added a few things, AND THEN checked it. If we did that, I think we would have a little more time. But over all, we made a lot of progress.

Reply
Meredith :)
11/17/2011 10:06:44 am

Today when our PACE group came we did a few things. First we showed the PACE students what our robot did. Then, we added and took away things for our robots to do. Later, the PACE students programed something onto our robot, which is really AWESOME!!!!! During class time I would say our group gets what’s needed done and we are usually on task. The PACE students helped us learn how to put a robot back together after it breaks and how to add a cool move to the robot. Our group and the PACE students interacted OK. We talked to them and they talked to us and we got things done that needed to be done. We could all work together and get one thing down at a time and we could FOCUS a bit more.

When we see our groups for the last time, we are going to tell the group thank you for your help and time for working with our group. They made us feel comfortable around them and they really helped our group in the first challenge and the second. They helped by programming and designing the robot and they inspired us to be creative. We might make a little outfit for the robot and add stickers to it. Who knows? The could help us more by giving us more tips and ideas and more time helping us program. Overall, I found the PACE students to be helpful and kind. I hope we can do something like this is the future and I hope the other four classes enjoy this as much as I did.

Reply
Taylor C.
11/17/2011 08:03:40 pm

My group made okay progress before Pace came: we programmed the first part of the song, but we did not know how to use the sensors. During our class time without Pace I think we have been productive. We always got to work programming the robot. One thing that my group learned from pace is how to use the touch sensor. We were stuck in how to put a sensor in. First, we tried a sound sensor but that was too ultra sensitive. Pace helped us put on a touch sensor. This is how it works, we press the start button, the robot stars moving forward. Then at the exact time the music starts, we press the touch sensor and the robot dance starts.

I think that to manage our time better, we could have started programming the dance first and then put the touch sensor on because we had two periods to work. I think that Pace really helped us with everything especially the sensors because they are the hardest parts of the robot to program. I think that Pace in my group could have overall helped a little more in the race because we really didn't have a feel for the robot yet. I just want to say thanks for all the help that Pace has provided us.

Reply
Ava
11/18/2011 07:15:05 am

what are the passwords for online data bases?

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.

    Directions on how to leave a comment:
    1. You will find a "comment" button at the top of the post, directly across from the date.
    2. Once you click on that, scroll down and you will find a comment box.
    3. Please enter your name. You don't need to leave your last name. You DO NOT need to add any email or other contact information.
    4. Enter your comment in the box. (Watch for punctuation! Reread and check it over before pressing submit.)
    5. Press Submit! A message will appear stating "your comment is awaiting approval." Check back later to view your comment posted on the page!

    Archives

    June 2012
    May 2012
    February 2012
    January 2012
    December 2011
    November 2011
    October 2011
    September 2011
    August 2011

    Categories

    All