What do you think?!

We have been working on the crime scene for a few weeks now and I can’t wait to hear what you think! In about 2 paragraphs for your homework tonight answer the following questions.

-How have you worked and acted like a forensic scientist.
-What is an observation?
-What are a few examples of the observations you have made so far?
-In the 3 tests we have performed who does your evidence point to?
-Do you think this person committed the crime? Why? What can you infer from your evidence?

***WARNING, WARNING, WARNING***
You must type your response in Microsoft Word first. Then, copy and paste into the comment box here. REREAD your response and check for correct spelling, puncutation, and complete sentences

Meaghan
12/13/2011 11:50:57 pm

I think I have worked like a forensic scientist by observing carefully and checking back with my notes to try to find the culprit. An observation is basically looking at an object and writing down its features and its changes. An example of an observation is, in school we had to look at thumb prints very carefully and write down it's features. We had to be very careful with this because one missed observation and you can get the whole assignment wrong!

In the three test we have preformed Felix, Alfredo, Gene and some Kendra have shown up.The evidence for me points to Kendra. I say this because I believe that Alfredo was telling the truth and he went to the bathroom. Kendra, also said she went to the bathroom to take a shower at the same time. Here's the catch there's only one bathroom! I think that she took Genes shoes while he slept to frame him. That is why his footprints showed up on the test while he said he was sleeping. She then murdered Felix to get the will money and stepped around in the paint to make sure that Gene went to jail. I also think that she did it for two other reasons. One, artists don't make a lot of money until they die and she needed the will money since Felix s rich. Two, the towel on the bucket says KG. (Her name is Kendra Goode)

Reply
ashley<3
12/14/2011 04:55:35 am

I have worked and acted like a forensic scientist because I have tested fingerprints on the cups and I have tested footprints near the body. Also I have I tested what DNA was on the earring, the hair in the comb and the sunglasses. An observation is to observe is to experience with your senses. One must notice something or someone with their senses carefully.

A few observations I have made in the crime scene so far is that Alfrato said he went to the bathroom at 2:45, there is only 1 bathroom and Kendra was taking a shower at 2:30 and she came down as soon as Alfrato called them at 3:00.Kendra said she thinks she heard a women’s voice downstairs and Vera’s DNA was tested on the earring. Also, the broken clock is stopped at the time 2:55. Lastly, there is a message on the cardboard and Alfrato and Gene both had filt tip pens in their pocket. I think my evidence points to Alfrato. I do think he committed the crime because Alfrato said he went to the bathroom at 2:45, but he couldn’t because there is only one bathroom at Kendra was in it. Also, Alfrato came back 10 minutes later, (2:55) and that was the time the clock was stopped on, then he called everyone at 3:00. He didn’t call them right away.

Reply
Sierra
12/14/2011 05:01:38 am


For the past few weeks my class has been working on the crime scene. The crime scene is very exciting because we get to use all of our senses to find out who murdered Felix Navidad. I have been working as a forensic scientist to figure out who committed the crime. This is a quote from Ask.com explaining what a forensic scientist does. “Forensic scientists operate at the meeting point between science and the law, providing impartial scientific evidence to help to solve crimes. Their findings and conclusions are used as evidence in courts of law. The work might involve using biology to examine such things as blood, tissue, hair and saliva, DNA to compare profiles from the smallest pieces of evidence, chemistry to examine evidence from fragments of glass or paint to shoe prints and soil, and toxicology to examine samples for illicit drugs, medicines, alcohol or poisons.” In class we have been working and learning about DNA, it’s all really exciting because we’re just that much closer to solving the mystery.
Something we have been also been learning about is observation. An observation is when a person notices something and then jots it down in a notebook or on a piece of paper. An example for an observation based on the crime scene is that I have noticed that Felix has been I vital part of the mystery, I have seen him in many of the items on the crime scene such as the comb wit hair on it and the sunglasses. In all the three tests we have performed most f my signs point to mainly Felix, Vera and Alfredo. I think that Felix is a vital part of this operation but, I also think that Vera and Alfredo are very important to this crime.

Reply
Jessica
12/14/2011 05:08:44 am

Yes because i think everyone in all the classes or should i say the whole sixth grade did the finger prints im pretty sure by now and nows who's finger prints are on their cups. A observation is a thing that you notice about anything like who was in what and where and when. I made observations about the crime and what it looked like. I made observations about who's finger prints where on who's cup. i think it might have been kendra or alfredo because kendra's finger prints where on felix's cup. Also alfredo's and felix's foot prints were by the body also the dog....

Reply
gilly
12/14/2011 05:08:53 am

I have worked like a foerensic scientest, by doing the finger prints tet the dna test and the foot prints test. an observation is to expeirence with your scences. one must notice sonething of some one. and write it down. i observed that all the suspects did show up in the tests at least one time. in the footprints test it was only gene and felix. in the three tests thre are two people to piont fingers at geene and alfado. i think that it was alfado becaus he showed up in one of the tests but is a shoe size seven so could have easaly framed geene. i also think it was alfrado becaus of the information in the beging.

Reply
12/14/2011 05:22:18 am

How I've acted like a forensic scientist is I've been very observant. I am watching very closely to things and looking at everything as a suspect. How I've been working like a forensic scientist is I've been taking a lot of notes. I've been noting everything that's important in my crime scene notebook.
An observation is when you are experiencing something with all 5 of your senses. You are experiencing the problem/observation.
One example of what I've been observing is the fingerprints. I was paying really close attention to it. When I saw something important, I wrote it down. Like when I saw that Felix's fingerprints were on his cup I observed it. I also observed the DNA on the earring. When I matched up the DNA, I double checked to see if I was correct.
The evidence obviously points to Felix, but also to Gene and Vera. I think Gene and Vera didn't do the crime. I think Vera did, but Gene didn't.I think Gene didn't do it because there was none of his DNA or fingerprints on any of the things. I think Vera did it because even though there were none of her footprints, there was a lot of her DNA. DNA is never wrong.

Reply
Sean S
12/14/2011 05:24:45 am

Yes I think I have worked as or like a forensic scientist. They way I have done this so far are by some basic tests like, DNA testing, fingerprint testing, and testing the footprints. An observation is to experience with your senses. One must notice someone or something with your senses carefully. Well we have each made observations on our own fingers as well as our group mate’s fingers. Also we have made observations on our suspect’s foot prints. My evidence doesn’t point to anyone because it doesn’t add up. I think that Felix staged the crime or they all killed him together.

Reply
Erin:)
12/14/2011 05:33:33 am

We work any different times as a forensic scientist. We are as them when we looked at the fingerprints on the cups, the footprints on the crime scene. Also when we looked at the earring, sunglass, and hair on the come. An observation is when you use what you’re hearing around you; see around you, and smell. Then you just write what you saw. A few things that I observe with the crime scene is there is a chocolate bar and cologne in the garbage. The towel says KG on it.

In the three tests we have done so far the evidence points to Vera. I think that the person that did the crime was Vera. I think that because she says that she was taking a shower at the same time that Alfredo went into the bathroom. The evidence I have that it was Vera is that it was her clip on earring. Also that her fingerprints were Felix’s cup.

Reply
Delia
12/14/2011 05:43:44 am

In our CSI unit I have worked like a forensic scientist. I have learned how to observe and infer the crime scene and all of its tests. I have learned how to pay close attention to details. (This is our definition in class) To observe is to experience with the senses. One must notice someone or something carefully. One must record information scientifically and with detail.

In the footprint experiment I noticed Gene and his dog’s foot prints in boxes 1, 2, 3, 4 in the crime scene. (Suspicious, Gene said that he didn’t take his dog on the porch.) I observed that Felix’s DNA was on the sunglasses and comb, while Vera’s was on the earring. I observed Felix’s cup and found his fingerprints as well as Kendra’s. Why were Kendra’s fingerprints on the cup? The 3 tests evidence points to Vera, Gene, and Kendra. We can cross of Vera; she could have just dropped her earring on the porch. I think the evidence points to Kendra. She said she was in the shower before Felix died, but Alfredo was in the bathroom. Maybe Kendra was downstairs and poisoned felix’s cup. I think Kendra might have done it.

Reply
Sophia
12/14/2011 05:48:20 am

These past few weeks we have been doing the crime scene. We have to think and act like forensic scientist. We are trying to find out who murdered Felix. We are testing fingerprints and foot prints. Forensic scientists do this every day. They also think outside the box. What is an observation? Well an observation is descriptive words that tell about an object. In the crime scene I personally observed each criminals fingerprint. I did not do the foot print test so I can not yet point any fingers.

Reply
Hanna
12/14/2011 06:04:22 am

During the crime scene unit, we have acted like forensic scientists by comparing DNA’s, fingerprints, shoeprints, and by making observations. An observation is when you find something out by using your five senses. Forensic scientists have to study everything very closely, and make sure that they don’t make any mistakes. The DNA left on a crime scene can really reveal who was there, even when they said that they weren’t.
Some of the observations we have made are, there is engraved writing on the cardboard in the crime scene. There was also a clip-on ear ring left in the crime scene. Also, Kedra’s fingerprints were on Felix’s cup, along with Felix’s. Gene, Felix and Gene’s dog’s footprints were on the crime scene. Gene claimed that he never let his dog onto the patio, though. That makes me think that he may have done something, because he lied. The DNA on the comb was Felix’s. I wonder if the comb has anything to do with how Felix died. I think that either Gene or Kendra committed the crime, because Gene could have killed Felix when Alfredo went to the bathroom. Or Kendra could have put something in Felix’s cup that could have poisoned Felix. After all, they did say that it was a bloodless case, so poison would make sense.

Reply
Max
12/14/2011 06:07:35 am

I have worked and acted like a forensic scientist because I have analyzed trace evidence and matched the prints. An observation is when you closely look at or analyze certain places or things. An example of an observation that I made is the drawing of the crime scene in the note book and on paper. I also had to match the foot prints of the suspects of the crime scene. We had to analyze the DNA on the earring, sunglasses, and the comb.
My evidence points mostly to Vera and Kendra. Most evidence found on the scene is Felix’s, Kendra’s, or Vera’s. I think that Vera committed the crime. Vera not only could cook up a poison on Felix’s cup and blame Kendra but also has a bucket with her perfume and candy in it. Her DNA was on some of the DNA found. Kendra claimed that she heard a woman downstairs. I think it may also be Kendra. Alfredo could have been in the bathroom when Kendra painted blood and foot prints while using paint to poison Felix’s cup based on the DNA found. No physical damage was found on Felix’s body which means he was poisoned

Reply
Darren
12/14/2011 06:23:37 am

In the kindergarten we acted like forensic scientists by doing a smell and taste test. It was kind of weird but fun. We would smell the crime scene and than we would smell the suspects clothes and match them.

An observation is when they make a comment about something or someone, usually as a result of watching how they behave.

I have saw that there was 2 cola cans and cups, a trace of a body, and much more. Another big one was the 5th avenue chocolate bar in the bucket.

The evidence points to Gene and Kendra so far and maybe Alfredo. I think that it was Kendra mostly. Number one is she looks suspicious and she has been on the cups in finger print form. I may be wrong but that is my opinion. (inference)

Reply
Alexa♥
12/14/2011 06:23:44 am

I have worked and acted like a forensic scientist because, we have tested the DNA, their fingerprints and they footprints. So I really do feel like a forensic scientist and I have to say it is fun! Finding out who’s fingerprints it is and there DNA and there foot prints! It’s so exciting and a lot of curiosity at the same time.

An observation is something you really look at carefully and take note of what is going on in what you’re looking at to understand it better. A few observations I made so far are, what I observed about the finger prints and foot prints like this : I observed that the DNA testing was mostly Vera and Felix. Gene, Kendra and surprisingly Alfredo didn’t have anything to do with what the DNA test. In the 3 tests we have done my evidence mainly points to Felix and Vera. Most of the test had Felix in every one of them, Vera wasn’t it everyone but she was in some; and I feel like she is very guilty. I think Vera did commit MAYBE committed the crime because she sounds guilty because even though she was just taking a walk ( I think I don’t have my notes) she might have been doing something else, and maybe just maybe since everyone left Felix alone and were doing something else, they were planning to kill him! That’s what I think and infer what happened.

Reply
Nicholas s :[
12/14/2011 06:28:21 am

I think that I worked like a forensic scientist by uncovering clues to the mystery of the crime scene and giving my forensic opinion. An observation is something that you examine or look at. For example, I observed the crime scene lay out and I observed the fingerprints to identify the correct answer. Since I wasn’t there for one of the three tests, I will just show my evidence from the two. In the fingerprint test, my evidence pointed to Kendra Goode and Felix Naveeda. For the DNA test, the DNA was found on the three objects (sunglasses, hair brush and earrings).

The DNA that showed up was Vera Cruise’s and Felix Naveeda’s. The person who I believe is the person who committed the crime is Kendra because she was the only one outside with Felix when the murder occurred. I think it is Kendra because her fingerprints showed up on the cups where Felix died. It was hard to find this out because she said that she went upstairs to take a shower at the same time as Alfredo. It is my opinion that she lied and committed the crime.

Reply
ethan
12/14/2011 06:38:28 am

I have worked like a forensic scientist by analyzing the crime scene, studying the evidence and making observations and drawing conclusions as to who did it. In the three tests we have done, most of the evidence points to Vera Cruse and one reason that is not included in the evidence is the secret cardboard message by Vera Cruse that says “The deed is done. Felix is dead!” Another reason I believe is that Vera Cruse’s earring was found at the crime scene.
An observation is when you notice something related to what you are looking at or analyzing. I have made two important observations so far at the crime scene. One was a secret message on a piece of cardboard and the second observation was a set of several footprints of a dog.

Reply
Lara
12/14/2011 07:03:22 am

I have no experience working as a forensic scientist; this is my first time. An observation is to experience with all of your senses, which are sight, smell, touch, taste, and sound. We have observed what Felix’s crime scene looks like. We have observed the fingerprints on the cups, the footprints on the patio, and we have looked at the DNA on the earrings, comb, and sunglasses.

When we did the test we all got different conclusions. These are my conclusions. On the fingerprint test I discovered Kendra’s fingerprints were on Felix’s cup. However, the DNA test shows Felix on the sunglasses, Vera on the earring, and Felix on the comb. On the other hand Felix and Gene had their shoe marks on the patio (the crime scene).

I believe that Kendra committed the crime. Her fingerprints were on Felix’s cup so she probably poisoned Felix. I think that she stole Gene’s shoes and put poison in the cup, then she put the shoes back where they were before. The paw prints are from Gene’s dog Sasha. Sasha followed the sound of the shoes. Kendra killed Felix for the money she would inherit from Felix’s will.

Reply
AVA
12/14/2011 07:10:14 am

I didn’t act like a forensic in the first place and second I was a forensic scientist. I was able to analyze the evidence and examine the facts. A forensic scientist is like the person who looks at the evidence closely. For those of you who watch NCIS the girl abbey is a great example of a forensic scientist. An observation is when you notice something with four senses. One must notice someone or something with your senses carefully. One must record information scientifically and with detail.
During the observation time we had in school and I was able explore the crime scene. In the crime scene I noticed or observed that the clock said 3:55 when the suspects found him dead at 3:00. Another thing I observed is that there were dog prints on the scene when the owner of the dog suspect gene Poule said “I never let Sasha (his blind dog) on to the crime scene”. I also observed that there were 2 nails on the crime scene. I recall seeing that there were nails on the bottom of Kendra Goode’s shoes had nails on them. She could have killed him even though there are no footprints of hers on the scene but all she had to do is not step in the paint.
We did 3 tests in class based off of DNA; we did the hair sample, sunglasses and traced the earring. The earring belonged to suspect Vera Cruise and the hair belonged to Felix the main victim. The sunglasses had the oil of Felix’s nose on it. I think Kendra Goode did it because she was at the scene. She was the only one at the scene who didn’t step in the paint and how could she have been in the shower if someone went to go to the bathroom while she was in the shower. In Felix’s house there are only 2 bedrooms and one bathroom.

Reply
12/14/2011 07:29:25 am


I think that I have acted like a forensic scientist because we have used three different DNA tests like the hair on comb and the finger print testing and eyeglass as well as the earring. I think an observation is to see things carefully using your five senses. In the testes that we have done it is pointing to Kendra because her finger prints were on Felix’s cup and her DNA is on the earring. I do not think Kendra did it. I think that Vera did it. I think this because she is a chemist, I think she did stuff to Felix’s cup.

Reply
Hannah G <3
12/14/2011 07:32:25 am

I have worked and acted like a Forensic Scientist by looking really closely at what I’m doing. I have made VERY close observations. I also have been looking at the Crime Scene and trying to figure out some possible inferences based on what I know. An observation is to experience with your senses. One must record information scientifically and with detail.
Some of the observations I made were that the foot-prints look like Gene’s in boxes 1-4. Another observation was that the hair in the comb was Felix’s. Another was that the sunglasses are Felix’s. Also the earring was Vera’s. Another one was Felix’s foot-prints was in boxes 4, 7 and 8.
My evidence through the three tests points to Vera. I think Vera committed the crime because Vera’s earring has been found on the crime scene near the body. I infer that Vera committed the crime because she had a very suspicious because the powder on her foot could have been drugs and she had was on the beach and Gene fell a sleep shoes less.

Reply
Meredith :P
12/14/2011 07:37:15 am

I LOVE the crime scene unit. It’s fun and interesting and I always want to do it. This unit will help me in the future and it will help me in life now. Ok so, I think I have acted like a forensic scientist in a few ways. On way being thoughtful about what is going on with the crime scene. I noticed little things about the crime scene that maybe other people didn’t pick up on and I was really focused when we did the analyzing fingerprints, the DNA test and times when we write things down about each suspect, I write down a lot. Another way I’ve acted like a forensic scientist is by thinking about each suspect. Vera Cruise is a chemist, therefore she may have concocted a poison and she may have made a fake blood. Kendra Goode is an artist and she claims that she took a shower, at her friend’s beach house at 2:30 pm but then Alfredo Fettuccine said that he went to the bathroom at 2:45 pm and there is only ONE bathroom in the beach house. Therefore, one of them was lying. Gene Poule has a faithful blind dog-named Sasha that follows him everywhere. Gene then had to rush inside the beach house at 3:00 pm when he heard Alfredo call for him and his friends. When police were questioning Gene, Gene said that he doesn’t let Sasha on the patio or inside the house but the dog follows him everywhere and there were dog footprints at the crime scene!!! So I believe that he is lying. An observation is when you observe someone or something in order to gain information on that thing or person and when you notice small or even a big clue. A few different examples of observation that I’ve made are many. One is picturing the crime scene. When Mrs. Scollins reads to me about how the crime scene looks and the different things about the suspect’s, I picture it in my head and then I look at the crime scene we have in our classroom, and I compare and infer what I’ve just heard from Mrs. Scollins.

In the 3 tests we have done I would have to say that I think, Kendra, Vera, Alfredo and Gene all did a part of the crime. Alfredo was the first one to know he was dead but he didn’t call for everyone right away he waited a few minutes. Kendra’s footprint wasn’t at the crime scene but her fingerprint was on Felix’s cup. She also claims that she went to the bathroom to shower at 2:45 pm and she claims that she heard a girl scream during her time in the bathroom. Alfredo says that he went to the bathroom at 2:45 pm but there’s only ONE bathroom, therefore one of the two is lying. Vera is a chemist and she could have made a poison or fake blood. After reading through all this evidence I think that the murder was set-up and planned. But, if I had to pick ONE person who was the main killer I would have to say… Kendra. She seems too hidden with all the crime talk and the picture of her is creepy. I know a lot of people in our two classes think its Vera because she’s a chemist and she probably poisoned Felix but I just don’t think it’s her. I mean it really wouldn’t be that obvious. Something mysterious is going on and I don’t what…

Reply
leon
12/14/2011 07:50:17 am

I think I have worked as a forensic scientist pretty good because I was able to tell the difference between DNA scans and fingerprints. I make really thorough observations. Observations are what you take in with all of your senses. It’s what you see, hear, smell, touch, and sometimes taste. Observations are usually written down or taken note of, unless you have a photographic memory. Some observations I’ve made are
Grandma talking on the phone
My sister is watching the news with rapt attention.
No lights on
It’s very cold
Those are just a few I can say. So far the evidence is pointing to Felix, Alfredo, and Vera. I wonder what really happened. I think Vera did it. Felix and Alfredo were supposed to be there. She wasn’t. Why did she touch the cup? I think she poisoned the cola before Felix drank it.

Reply
Cassidy
12/14/2011 07:57:26 am

We have acted like Forensic Scientists. We have acted like them because they test DNA, and we have been testing DNA too. we have been looking at fingerprints, footprints and hair samples. An observation is when you study something, and/or record notes about it. An example of an observation, is that we observed the crime scene. We observed the crime scene by looking at it, taking notes, and drawing it. After all our tests, the evidence points to a lot of different people. On Felix's cup, there was Felix's, Alfredo's and Kendra's fingerprints. On Alfredo's cup, there were Felix's, Alfredo's and Kendra's fingerprints. At the crime scene, there are Gene's, Felix's, and Alfredo's footprints. On the comb, there was Felix's hair. On the sunglasses, there were Kendra's hair. On the Earring, there was Kendra's hair also. I don't know who committed the crime, but it think it might be Kendra, I think this because she said she was taking a shower from 2:30 to 3:00, but Vera was using the shower from 2:45 to 3:00.

Reply
alex
12/14/2011 08:25:19 am

I have worked and acted like a forensic scientist by scanning fingerprints, analyzing footprints and DNA. An observation is to observe is to experience with your senses. One must notice someone or something with their senses carefully. One must record information scientifically and with detail. Some examples of observations I made are that there is a piece of cardboard and it has a message on it. Another example of observations I made are that there are dog and shoe prints around the body.
After the three tests we’ve done the evidence points to a few people but mostly points to Felix. I’m not positive that Felix did it because there were other people who came up after the test. His DNA though was found on the sunglasses and comb think Felix did not do the crime because he was the victim and in the footprints test, his footprints end where the body was. I can infer on other evidence like the fingerprints on Felix’s cup then that Kendra might have done it because they were her prints.

Reply
Maia
12/14/2011 08:32:14 am

I have worked and acted like a forensic scientist in many ways. I have paid attention to all of the details of the crime scene, and have been very observant of what is there. An observation is something you watch with your senses. A few of the observations that I made are that Gene's footprints and Sasha's dog prints are all over it also. And I also observed that the fake earring has Vera's DNA all over it. Most if my evidence points to Gene. I don't think that Gene committed the crime though. He said he took his sandals off during his nap. Maybe someone took the sandals and had Sasha follow them to frame Gene.

Reply
Marcus
12/14/2011 09:03:31 am

An observation is when you look, hear, smell touch and taste something and you take notes on it. an observation I had made was like the secret message I decoded on the piece of cardboard. in our testes the evidence points to Vera being most of our fingerprint analysis and DNA analysis had her fingerprints of DNA traces. I have worked and acted like a forensic scientist in the sense of when we did the analysis of the DNA. that's what forensic is. down into the small things, the details.

Reply
Damien
12/14/2011 09:04:01 am

I acted like a forensic scientist by analizing footprints, fingerprints, a hair strand and sunglasses. An observation is watching something and taking notes on what it does or what happens. We observed the crime scene to see if it was a real murder or a staged mureder and who could have done it.

So far we looked at fingerprints on a plastic cup and we analized the footprints and fingerprints to see who they belonged to. After the three test that we did we think that most of the footprints and fingerprints have to do with Gene, but we also think that Vera had some part in the crime. Gene's footprints were in the house near the body and Vera had her dna on the sunglasses.

I think that Gene did commit the crime. Most of the evidence points to him and there was a clip on earring at the scene and Gene had one earring.

Reply
Maccray Rentel
12/14/2011 09:04:28 am

I think that we have worked like forensic scientists because we have done all of these tests for fingerprints, footprints, and DNA; we have been using the information we were given to help us solve the mystery. Also we are acting like forensic scientists because we are learning how if you jump the gun and get your self set on one result, it won’t be pretty when your partner gets the correct answer.
I don’t think that Gene committed the murder because he was only in one trace of evidence and this was that his footprints were found near the body. Someone could have easily just taken his shoes or just painted his footprint. I think that Vera committed the crime because, yes Alfredo had his fingerprints on a cup but we already know that Felix and Alfredo were having a drink. Vera left her earring on the crime scene, how do you explain leaving your earring on a crime scene but not being there? I still am not positive that she did it because Alfredo was with Felix, and then he said he had to go to the bathroom, he soon got back at 2:55 pm and that is when the clock at the crime scene was stopped, therefore Alfredo was the one who committed the crime.

Reply
Emily
12/14/2011 09:46:27 am


I think I have acted like a forensic scientist in numerous ways. I started out with reviewing numbers of fingerprints such as the whorl, loop and the arch. I also think reading the short story about the fingerprint scanning broadened my opinions on fingerprints and how there is always something left behind from the scene of the crime. Also with the many lessons we have had showed me

An observation is the way you look at things or when you are examining an individual or recording statistics that has been left behind. Observations play an immense part in the five steps of the Scientific method.

I think the evidence points to either or Vera. I believe Vera and Alfredo may have committed the crime together. I think this because Vera was on a “Walk in the hills” I believe well she was on this walk she was able to coax Sasha (Genes Dog) who is blind to follow her. She was able to grab Gene’s shoes and then stomp them around to make the dog believe those were his master’s shoes. She then hurried over onto the patio leaving Sasha’s footprints and then she stomped Genes shoes around and put them inside the house making it seem Gene was part of the scene of the crime. I think also since she is a chemist she was able to create poison and place it in Felix’s drink since there were no external injuries also she created fake blood to make it seem like he was murdered. Vera also could have taken the body and concealed it on her walk this I think means Felix is deceased also said she heard a females voice when she was taking her shower. Vera is the only other female and she could have been part of the crime and she was involved in countless ways she seems very suspicious.

Some observations I have made are

• There is a chocolate stain on the scene of the crime
• There is 2 small nails
• There is paint
• There are dog prints in very unnaturally placed ways
• There is also some numerous footprints more than one persons

Reply
katie
12/14/2011 09:56:43 am


Over the past few weeks, we’ve worked on the crime scene analyzing fingerprints, matching DNA samples and conducting observations. I feel like I’m becoming a real forensic scientist because we’ve been doing all the things forensic scientists do.

When you conduct an observation, you must use all your senses like your eyes, nose, ears and mouth. One must notice someone or something with their senses carefully. So far I’ve observed so much from just looking at the crime scene. I’ve observed that in the bucket on the 5th square the towel has the initials KG on it. Also, on the 4th square there are two nails lying at the bottom top left corner.

We’ve done three tests so far on the fingerprints, sunglasses, hair comb and earrings. My evidence points to Felix because his DNA is on the comb and the sunglasses. I think he committed the crime because he said he went to the bathroom at 2:45 pm. Kendra was in the shower at 2:30 pm and there is only one bathroom in the house. Kendra would have heard him come in and go to the bathroom while she was in the shower, but she did not. So, my educated guess is that during that time he said he was going to the bathroom he did not go and something happened that was very bad.

Reply
Charlotte
12/14/2011 10:02:27 am

Yes we have worked and acted like forensic scientists. We analyzed fingerprints and footprints like a forensic scientist would have and we were thinking like a forensic scientist would to solve a crime. An observation is when someone examines something or someone and makes judgments or inferences on what they see, hear, smell or touch. One example of an observation we made so far was observing the crime scene. We looked at the crime scene and drew pictures of the scene and made observations.

In the three tests we have performed so far the evidence points toward Alfredo. At first I thought it was Kendra, but it all makes sense now. Alfredo said he was in the bathroom the same time as Kendra, so one of them was lying. Alfredo’s fingerprints were found on Felix’s cup and Gene’s footprints were found near the body. He could have gone up to the bathroom, taken Kendra’s towel and Gene’s shoe gone to the patio, killed Felix and put Kendra’s towel there to frame her and Gene. I think Alfredo committed the crime.

Reply
JACOB
12/14/2011 10:03:13 am

You said that this is the 11/14 blog. Not the 12/14 blog. I’m observing that it’s December not November
Yes, I think I have worked like a forensic scientist because I made observations and inferences.
An observation is the action or process of observing something or someone carefully or in order to gain information.

I have observed the finger prints and DNA carefully and realized that Vera touched feilex's cup, Kendra dropped a clip on ear ring and the house only had one bathroom but Vera was showering and Alfaro said that he went to the bathroom and when he came back feilex was dead.

The evidence points to… Vera

Yes they killed the man. The other guy said he took off his shoes when he went to sleep so I infer that Kendra stole his shoes, killed Feilex and the dog just followed because he must have been following the scent of the shoes. Her finger prints were also on Feilex’s cup. I also suspect that she’s lying when she says she took a shower because Alfaro sounds like a good guy so I trust him and NOT the murderer.

Reply
Leo S
12/14/2011 10:12:11 am

To make an observation is to experience with your senses. One must notice something or someone with their senses. Here are some observations I have made:
1. There is a message on the cardboard in the 8th box
2. There is wool string in the 4th box
3. That Kendra’s finger prints were on Felix’s cup
I think that the evidence so far shows that Felix either staged his death or committed suicide. I think this because Felix was traced in every single test. I can infer that Felix might have staged his death or committed suicide based on the evidence I have found out.

Reply
Vishwanka:)
12/14/2011 10:23:01 am

I thought about who has committed the crime using all the notes on the suspects, footprints, fingerprints. I even took Gene’s dog into consideration. An observation: to observe or experience with your senses. One must notice something carefully. One must record information scientifically and with detail. The observations I have so far are:
1. There is a candy wrapper and a glass bottle in the bin
2. There is hair attached to the comb
3. There is string in 4 out of the 8 boxes
4. There is a black line down a paper towel on the floor
In the footprint test, the evidence that Gene’s footprints were near the body and the dog footprints gets me thinking. I think that Sasha might have followed Gene onto the patio. Gene said that Sasha always follows him. She might have caused a distraction while Gene did something to Felix. I also think that Kendra is part of the crime. Gene and Kendra might have done the crime together. Kendra’s fingerprints were found on Felix’s cup. I think that Kendra committed the crime because maybe Kendra picked up Felix’s cup to put poison in it since there was no blood on Felix’s body. I just need one more test with clues left by Gene and Kendra to prove my point about Kendra committing the crime.

Reply
chris
12/14/2011 10:23:06 am




Yes, I have started analyzing footprints and fingerprints of the crime scene, and we studied the crime scene by looking at all the evidence. An observation is the action or process of observing something or someone carefully or in order to gain information. I saw that Kendra’s fingerprints on Felix’s cup and that there was an earring on square 3. I think Kendra might have poisoned Felix’s cup.

Reply
Ellie
12/14/2011 12:00:14 pm

I have worked and acted like a forensic scientist by carefully examining evidence. I have been letting myself think, who did this? too. Observations are basically, studying with use of the senses. They are things that you see, hear and feel around whatever your'e observing. Some observations I've done was the observations about the fingerprints on the cups. Another, is the 8-segment drawing of the crime scene.
In the first test we did, the footprint test, the evidence pointed to Gene Poule; his footprints were all around the crime scene. The second test was the fingerprint test pointed to Kendra because her fingerprints were on Felix's cup. The third test pointed to Vera when we discovered that the earring belonged to her. I think Kendra committed the crime. This is because her fingerprints were on the cup, so she probably poisoned Felix.

Reply
Taylor
12/14/2011 11:46:18 pm

We have worked like forensic scientists when we matched fingerprints and compared DNA to the suspects’ and the victims. An observation is noting down anything that you see, hear, smell, taste, or feel. An example is how we in the very beginning of this drew the crime scene because we were observing what everything looked like. We also observed when we compared the fingerprints and the DNA to people.
I think that the evidence points to I think that everybody worked together to murder Felix because everybody has evidence that points to them.

Reply
Matt Harris !
12/15/2011 04:35:28 am

I think that I acted like a forensic scientist by participating in all the activities and by doing the work. We had to use are thinking and knowledge to no who’s finger print it was. We did many activities that made us have to work as forensic scientist like…
♦ Use Fingerprints as clues
♦ Burned material to see what looked like the burned material on the crime scene
♦ Also Footprints
An observation is when you study something up close and you see every move it is making. It’s not always moving though like in the crime sense we are doing now. We are studying a crime from up close.
few examples we have done as observations are…
♦ In the beginning we all gathered around to look at the crime sense. While we were doing that we all checked and looked at clues and other stuff we could see for clues.
♦ We did a finger print experiment to match up the fingerprints we saw and to check who did it.
♦ During the middle of the crime unit we did footprints and the teacher gave us a sheet of paper and we matched up the footprints like the fingerprints
I think that they did the crime because since they were all friends and Felix had a lot of money they wanted to kill him. Only cause they would get at least 1000$ of cash when he died.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.

    Directions on how to leave a comment:
    1. You will find a "comment" button at the top of the post, directly across from the date.
    2. Once you click on that, scroll down and you will find a comment box.
    3. Please enter your name. You don't need to leave your last name. You DO NOT need to add any email or other contact information.
    4. Enter your comment in the box. (Watch for punctuation! Reread and check it over before pressing submit.)
    5. Press Submit! A message will appear stating "your comment is awaiting approval." Check back later to view your comment posted on the page!

    Archives

    June 2012
    May 2012
    February 2012
    January 2012
    December 2011
    November 2011
    October 2011
    September 2011
    August 2011

    Categories

    All