Welcome new 6th graders! We are going to have a fantastic year! Ms. DeLaurentis and I are so excited to have you as a part of our team this year!
Take some time to check out this website as you will be visiting it a lot throughout the year! Your homework will be posted here each night and you will even have homework on the blog!
I can't wait until the first day of school to hear all about your wonderful summers! I had a crazy summer but it was filled with a lot of fun things!
I also can't wait to learn all about each one of you! Here are a few things you may not know about me!!

1. I got married in May! My husband and I both went to PVC!
2. I Have a dog named Luna and a bearded dragon named Draco!
3. I love teaching math and science but I LOVE to read! My all time favorite book is Walk Two Moons by Sharon Creech!
4. I have 2 brothers and 2 sisters! My youngest brother is an 11th grader at CHHS!

I can't believe there are only a few weeks left in the summer! Check out the directions on the right and post a comment and tell me a about your summer and what you are excited for this year!!
Claire
8/20/2011 08:27:58 am

Hi hi,
I <3 <3 your website!!!!!!!!
Can't wait to see you in September

Reply
Ellie
8/20/2011 12:32:46 pm

Hi! I can't wait for school in september.

Reply
Mrs Scollins :)
8/20/2011 11:03:18 pm

Hi Claire! Thanks! I have so much fun designing the website :) See you in September!!

Hi Ellie!! I can't wait either :)

Reply
Hannah
8/21/2011 08:51:10 am

Hi im so excited to be in you're class
this summer i went to arizonia to see my bffs!

Reply
Vincent
8/21/2011 10:13:59 pm

Hi Mrs. Scollins,

I got a new puppy this summer, his name is Teddy. I love science and I love to learn about fish. See you in September.

Reply
Hannah
8/21/2011 10:23:20 pm

Hi Hi
I cant wait to see you . You were my brothers teacher when his teacher had a baby.

Reply
gilly
8/22/2011 04:26:35 am

hi i cant wait to start school with you mrs. scollins

Reply
Meredith
8/24/2011 07:44:18 am

Hey!!! This summer I went to Niagara Falls for 2 days, Chatham , MA for 2 weeks where I stayed at my Mimi and Papa's house. Then, North Carolina for 1 week where I stayed at my Aunt Holly's house and then I went to Washintgon DC for 2 days where we went to the Spy Museum and the Air & Space Museum. Finally, I went to Hershey Park for 3 days. I've been very busy!!! Over the course of the summer I've read 6 books!!! I have a little brother CJ and a twin sister Emily (You already know her). I LOVE to play soccer, dance and act!!! I am so excited to meet you and start school!!!

See you in September!!!

Meredith

Reply
Emily
8/24/2011 07:58:12 am

Hi Mrs. Scollins I can't wait to see you for Math and Science. I have a twin sister and a younger brother. This summer I went to Cape Cod, Niagara falls, Hershey Park and North Carolina. I also love sports and learning. I really love the Boston Red Sox. and writing Poetry.

Reply
Mrs. Scollins :)
8/24/2011 08:15:27 am

Hannah!
Thanks for posting :) I was excited to see your name on my list! I hope you are having a great summer!

Reply
Mrs. Scollins
8/24/2011 08:19:40 am

Hi Gilly!
I'm so glad you found the website! I have a new website this year :) I'm also glad you showed Abby :) See you soon!

Hi Vincent!
You got a puppy?! What kind? I LOVE dogs! There are photos of my dog, Luna, all over my desk :)

Reply
Mrs. Scollins :)
8/24/2011 08:23:58 am

Hi Meredith!
WOW it sounds like you had a great summer! I've never been to Niagara Falls OR Hershey Park! I'm so jealous! You also have me beat on number of books read! I only read 4! I have to catch up! Hope to see you soon :)

Reply
Mrs. Scollins!
8/24/2011 08:28:33 am

Hi Emily!!
I'm SO excited you are in my class this year :) It sounds like you had a busy summer! We might have a problem, I am a huge YANKEES fan! Uh Oh! I hope you enjoy the last few weeks of summer!! Hope to see you soon!! :)

Reply
darren sussman
8/28/2011 10:00:20 am

I went to sleepaway camp for 7 weeks then got back from the beach about 2 weeks ago. I also got back from camping yesterday. I look foward to a good year. i hear you are an AMAZING teacher. Can't wait :)

Reply
Delia
8/29/2011 11:07:48 pm

Hi! I went to Cape Cod for 1 week. The water was cold. I have kittens named Luna and Obi. See you in September!!!!

Reply
Mrs. Scollins :)
8/29/2011 11:13:00 pm

Hi Darren!! It was so nice to meet you yesterday! It sounds like you had a great summer! I can't wait for the school year either :)

Hi Delia! My parents went to Cape Cod this summer too! I haven't been since I was 6 months old! I have a dog named Luna :) It is the best name ;) Enjoy the rest of your summer! See you soon!

Reply
8/31/2011 04:56:28 am

hey Mrs. S,

I think you had my older brother Sam (Roth) when he was in 6th, and from what he tells me I should be really excited to have you as a teacher.

Jacob

Reply
Mrs. Scollins :)
8/31/2011 06:38:13 am

Hi Jacob!!
Yes! I did have Sam when he was in 6th grade! I can't wait to start this year and get to know you too! I hope you are having a great summer and didn't have a crazy weekend with Hurricane Irene! Enjoy your last few days of summer :)
See you soon!!
Mrs. S

Reply
Hanna
9/3/2011 10:18:54 pm

Hi Mrs. Scollins,
I am really excited to be in your class this year! Over vacation, I went to Michigan. I rode the waves until I turned blue in Lake Michigan. I also went kayaking in the Muskegon River. See you soon!

Reply
Vishwanka
9/5/2011 07:05:43 am

Hi
I cannot wait ti learn math and science from you!
My favorite book is Walk Two Moons too!

See you on Tuesday!

Reply
Meaghan
9/7/2011 08:54:17 am

Hi Ms.Scollins! I just wanted to say that I think that your opinion baseball team wise is AMAZING!! Hope you had a great summer!

Reply
alex
9/9/2011 08:55:39 am

I love sunny weather because I can be in the great outdoors and bike, play baseball etc.

Reply
gilly
9/9/2011 10:13:36 pm

on Friday I made a banner for the football players to run threw and I finely got my pom poms

Reply
Erin
9/10/2011 01:32:09 am

Hi Mrs. S here i my homework

What is your favorite type of weather (sun, snow, fog, sleet, storms, hail...) Why?
My favorite type of weather is sunny. I think that because when it is sunny out I can go outside and play. But if it is a rainy day you have to stay in the house (or school) all day. I like sunny days because when we are in school we get to go outside and go on the monkey bars. I’m happy that we it’s finally sunny after so many days of rain.

Reply
Leo
9/10/2011 01:00:05 pm

hi mrs Scollins i just wanted to say that love your classes and they make me want to come back to school

Reply
Leo
9/10/2011 11:15:51 pm

here is my homework

my favorite type of weather would have to be a tie between sunny and snowing. in the summer when its sunny you can go in oceans. you can go surfing, you can go in an outdoor pool and not freeze your butt off,you can go to the beach and lay in the warm sun.
but in the winter its all snowy and you can throw snow balls, you can go skiing or snowboarding, you can go sledding, you can build igloos, and you can drink hot cocoa.

that is why i like when its sunny and when its snowy

Reply
leonardo rinaldi
9/11/2011 08:05:40 am

During Hurricane Irene we lost power for four days. It was hard and boring because there's no electricity and we had to go to my neighbor's house to get power to charge my Ipod.

Reply
Emily
9/11/2011 08:25:33 am

My favorite type of weather is when it is sunny. There are plenty of fun activites to do outside. You could go swimming, play with friends or enjoy time on a beach or park. Sunny weather makes me feel happy!

Reply
Maccray
9/11/2011 08:41:01 am

Hey Mrs. Scollins i'm having a great time in your classes i really like that you do dances with us (Cotton-eyed joe, the Dougie)

Reply
Sophia
9/11/2011 10:23:48 am

Here is my homework,

My favorite type of weather is fog. It is my favorite because it is cool when you can’t see a few feet in front of you. Also there is a cloud around you and it is like you are in the air but you are not you are on the earth. When it is foggy it is usually humid air and I love humid air it feels good, hot but wet. That’s why I love fog.

Reply
9/11/2011 09:53:34 pm

Q. What is your favorite type of weather (sun, snow, fog, sleet, storms, hail...) Why?

A. I like snow storms because, (1) it's great smowboarding weather, (2) when there is a huge snow storm, and i'm not at a ski lodge and school is cancelled, (and then I just go sledding) finally (3) when it's bitterly cold and I can't go out side I just LOVE sitting by the fire, drinking hot chocolate and watching TV with my family

Reply
Taylor C.
9/11/2011 10:05:57 pm

What is your favorite type of weather (sun, snow, fog, sleet, storms, hail...) why?
My favorite weather is sun because I get to go outside with my friends and play soccer and go in a pool. i like it because I’d rather have sun than rain. I also like snow because I get to go skiing and there is no school. These are my favorite two weathers.

Reply
darren
9/12/2011 06:02:58 am

Hey, I am already having a great year with you and Ms. DeLaurentis. I never thought of school being this fun. I cant wait for the rest of this year with you guys. The classroom is really nice. I really like having a class pet by the way.

Reply
ava
9/12/2011 06:10:43 am

This summer I was in North Carolina when Irene hit the following morning. My family and I started to head out of my house and into the car. Irene was quickly coming from behind. We hit some rain in Pennsylvania all the way back home. When we got home everything was fine no trees on the house and then the power went out. Luckily we had a generator, are power was out for two days and then everything went back to normal.

Reply
Cassidy
9/12/2011 08:20:35 am

What is your favorite type of weather (sun, snow, fog, sleet, storms, hail...) why?

I like the snow. I like the snow because you can go sledding. You can also have a snowball fight or make a snowman. I also like eating snow. that is why I like the snow.

Reply
Ellie
9/12/2011 09:27:18 pm

What is your favorite type of weather?

Sunny weather is my favorite type of weather. If it is sunny you can always go outside because when storms are about to hit it gets cloudy. When you are outside while the sun is out you can be in the shade or the sun but if your'e in the sun it's usually quite warm.
Also the sun is nice because when it's sunny the sky is almost always a vivid blue. That is why i like sunny weather best.

Reply
Erin
9/28/2011 05:23:39 am

I’m choosing the front page of the new paper for my hurricane project. Sometimes I like to write like a journalist so I thought with would be fun!

Reply
ava
9/28/2011 06:42:43 am

mrs. scollins, i have decided to become a meteoroligist for the project. i was wondering if i could include my dog indy?

Reply
Mrs Scollins :)
9/28/2011 11:52:49 pm

Hi Ava :)
Yes of course you can use Indy in your project :) Can't wait to see it :) Enjoy your weekend!!! Mrs S

Reply
Darren
9/30/2011 09:07:35 am

I have decided to do the news cast and I was wondering if there was an exact minimum of time it has to be. By the way, I have made lots of progress so far. Enjoy your long weekend :)

Reply
max
10/2/2011 12:07:12 pm

Mrs.scollins, i am doing the newspaper cover front page.

Reply
gilly
10/2/2011 09:58:25 pm

i chose to do the front page of a news paper for the huricane projekt. i aledy got stated on it.

Reply
ava
10/3/2011 07:22:33 am

I just finished my math I was wondering if it was ok that I finished it.

Reply
Mrs. Scollins :)
10/3/2011 08:54:15 am

Ava! You can finish your math any time :) The more math the better :) Great work today!

Reply
Erin
10/4/2011 05:38:27 am

Hi Mrs. S here is my homework:

I’m planning my project by doing a paragraph a night and sometimes in the library. I created a calendar on my own each night I write paragraph as I said. I also find pictures to put on my poster. I have written one paragraph and found pictures. The next step to my project is researching and drafting then putting it on my poster board. I have not had any problems yet and I hope to keep it that way. The thing I like about my project so far is learning more and more about hurricanes and coming up with names for you’re paragraphs.

Reply
Katie
10/4/2011 10:40:00 am

I’m really interested in this project because I can actually relate to how it feels to be in a hurricane because we just had one recently. It’s also really interesting how much a hurricane can do in such a short amount of time. It can hurt people and it can ruin a lot of property. Right now in the project I’m researching my last topic and then I’m going to start drafting my notes. I’m really feeling good on where I am in the project right now -- no stressing! I’m sort of using the calendar you gave me, but on some days I’m not. Some days I’ll do two things instead of one and on other days I’ll do one or none.

Reply
gilly
10/5/2011 09:18:09 am

I started to type up my project i am doing mine on a made up hurricane called hurricane Gillian for my cover of a newspaper.

Reply
ava
10/8/2011 12:59:12 am

mrs. s can i write my script out instead of typing it?

Reply
Mrs S
10/8/2011 02:38:24 am

Ava!! yes :) Writing is fine as long as I can read it :)

Reply
ava
10/8/2011 03:07:08 am

thanks have a great weekend!

Reply
katie
10/12/2011 09:18:31 pm

I love using LEGO’s and I love the work my group has done so far. It’s so much fun building our project and seeing how it’s turning out, and watching it go forward. It’s so cool. My group is doing a good job keeping up with everybody else and pushing ourselves to keep going. We are also sharing, so everyone in the group is doing the same amount of work. Our challenges as a group have been to figure out how many sensors we wanted. We could not agree on how many, so that was a big problem, but we did compromise.

I learned that LEGO’s are not just about having fun and fooling around. You can make a robot do anything pretty much and it’s really interesting how you can do that. I learned that I really do not like when somebody bosses people around and tells people what to do. I also learned that I like when everybody in the group shares an idea instead of one person doing everything. The more the ideas, the better. I would like to work on the programming with the PACE mentors.

Reply
Erin
10/13/2011 07:14:28 am

I forgot to add this:
I things I like about the LEGO’S Is that you can make what you wanted, after you finish you’re basic robot. What I found out about myself in this unit is that i like to build things and it gets my mind thinking about different things

Reply
Erin
10/16/2011 09:43:01 am

Hi Mrs. S, here is my homework:

When the Pace students were standing around the room I felt like I was so small. They seemed to be coming closer and closer. One of the things that I learned from the Pace students is that one of the wheels was in front of the other. The second thing I learned is how to program our robot. They taught me how to find the program on the robot. We interacted well with the Pace students. Once the robot was moving, we interacted much more. It was a lot of fun and I hope we can do this again.

Reply
Katie
10/17/2011 10:43:32 am

Today when I got back from the bathroom, I saw all these tall college students who were right in the doorway. It was awkward trying to squeeze my way past them to get to my seat. It was pretty scary when I saw them. When we were in the hallway, my group was a little shy with each other. We kept on asking questions about the robot and other stuff just to get to know them better and to get the sense of their personalities. Working together, we learned that the back wheel had put too much back weight on the robot, so we had to fix that. Also, the wheels should not be rubbing against each other because if they do, they will start twitching and vibrating which makes the robot unable to go forward without falling over. By the end of the day, our robot could go forward and I had a better comfort level with the college students.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.

    Directions on how to leave a comment:
    1. You will find a "comment" button at the top of the post, directly across from the date.
    2. Once you click on that, scroll down and you will find a comment box.
    3. Please enter your name. You don't need to leave your last name. You DO NOT need to add any email or other contact information.
    4. Enter your comment in the box. (Watch for punctuation! Reread and check it over before pressing submit.)
    5. Press Submit! A message will appear stating "your comment is awaiting approval." Check back later to view your comment posted on the page!

    Archives

    June 2012
    May 2012
    February 2012
    January 2012
    December 2011
    November 2011
    October 2011
    September 2011
    August 2011

    Categories

    All