On Monday February 27th, we will be attending BOCES Monster Storms Presentation. As part of the presentation there is always a Skype presenter who has a job in the “weather” field. Four students get to talk directly to this presenter ask their question.

This year you will be speaking with, Dr. Frank Marks! Dr. Frank Marks is the Director of Hurricane Research and a Meteorologist for NOAA's Hurricane Research Division in Miami, FL.

Dr. Marks describes his department in NOAA as the department that studies what makes tropical storms do what they do.

Dr. Marks flies the hurricane hunter plans into the storm. Since 1980 he has flown into 75-80 tropical cyclones, of which more than 40 were hurricanes, making over 400 penetrations into hurricane eyes.

For homework you will be using the following links to research about Dr. Marks. You will then prepare a response with 2 new things you learned about Dr. Marks and 2 possible questions you would want to ask him about his job/research.

Links:
http://www.noaa.gov/features/03_protecting/frankmarks_interview.html

http://www.noaanews.noaa.gov/stories2010/20101202_ams.html

http://www.nasa.gov/vision/earth/lookingatearth/marks_bio.html

http://www.aoml.noaa.gov/hrd/Marks/marks_bio.html

ashley r.
2/15/2012 04:23:41 am

2 new things I learned about Dr. Marks is:
1-Frank Marks has been working for the NOAA for 30 years.
2-Frank Marks was mainly focused on the science of understanding how hurricanes work, flying into storms collecting observations and analyzing the results.
3 possible questions I would ask him is:
1-What would your team mates do without you?
2-What is the most important thing about you job?
3-Why did you decide to do what your doing? Did you do it for someone?

Reply
Erin
2/15/2012 04:36:22 am

One fact I learned about Frank Marks is he has been a Meteorologist with the Hurricane Research since 1980, and director since 2003. The other fact I learned was he education includes a Science Doctorate and Masters Degree in Meteorology from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and a Bachelors Degree in Meteorology from Belknap College.

Facts from: http://www.nasa.gov/vision/earth/lookingatearth/marks_bio.html

The first question is, what is the scariest moment doing what you do? The second question is, what are the project’s you would like to do in the future?

Reply
Erin
2/26/2012 07:23:29 am

I have one more question for Dr. Marks, How does global warming affecting the weather.

Reply
Jessica
2/15/2012 04:42:13 am

1 thing that I learned about frank mark is that he has been working for 30 years!!!!! Another fact that I have learned about frank mark is that he has flown into more then 200 hurricanes!!!! I think if I flew through 200 hurricanes I would be so scared that one of these times I could die. 1 question I would have is where have you had to travel to go to these storms. Another question I would have asked is what is the biggest storm you have ever been in?

Reply
2/15/2012 05:05:24 am

After reading a bunch of articles about Frank Marks, I learned amazing facts about him. The first fact is that he mentors future meteorologists because when Frank was a young scientist, he was mentored. He also loves teaching his way of determining hurricane patterns and his forensic ideas. The second fact is that he has been flying in and out of hurricanes for 30 years. Also, each flight can last for about 9 to 10 hours!
After reading about Frank I have some questions which are: What encouraged you to be a meteorologist? And at what age did you want to become a meteorologist? What is it like flying through a hurricane? What is the strongest hurricane that you flew through?

Reply
leon
2/15/2012 05:13:07 am

I would like to meet Dr.Marks and I'm pretty sad that I can’t and if I could meet him I would ask him these questions. Your website says you are a hurricane hunter. What kind of equipment do you bring with you in the plane you fly into the hurricane? Is there a kind special way you fly into the hurricane or do you just smack into it? How do you become a hurricane or tropical storm hunter? Is there a special school for people like you? These are some questions I would like to ask Dr.Marks.

Reply
Hanna S.
2/15/2012 05:22:19 am

I thought it was really cool that Frank Marks got the Verner E. Suomi award. By the article it sounds like the award is for technological achievement and oceanic science. I also learned that he is the leader for the NOAA Hurricane Forecast Improvement Project. A question I have is how are they going to improve how the predict weather? Will it be more advanced technology, or a whole other way of predicting weather? When he flies in the eye of a hurricane, how big is his helicopter? Does it matter what size and weight it is?

Reply
Claire
2/15/2012 05:24:43 am

Dr. Marks is VERY interesting. He won 10 awards and honors. He has earned 3 degrees. (B.S. M.S. & Sc.D.) Some questions I have for him is:
1) What was it like in Hurricane Hugo? Did you know anyone in hurricane Hugo?
2) What's the worst thing that has happened to you in hurricane? How did you react?

Reply
Vincent
2/15/2012 05:28:36 am

I enjoyed reading about Dr. Frank Marks. I learned that Dr. Marks received his PhD in meteorology from the Institute of Technology in Cambridge Ma and has worked on studying hurricanes since 1980. Last year he won the Suomi medallion. This award was given to him for all his work in studying tropical cyclones. I also learned that Dr. Marks has flown more than 450 research missions in NOAA’s hurricane hunter aircraft. Dr. Marks has said he feels very lucky to be one of the few people in the world to regularly fly into hurricanes. Dr. Marks has also stated that field work has made his job of scientist easier because it keeps him connect to the science. He finds these flights to be awe inspiring.

Dr. Marks’ field work of flying into hurricanes seems very dangerous I would like to ask him if he has ever crashed while flying into hurricanes and if anyone has ever died flying in hurricanes? Also Dr. Marks has indicated that his work is important because he helps save lives. I would like to know if there were any mistakes made in forecasting hurricane Katrina? Many people died in that storm.

Reply
Meaghan
2/15/2012 05:33:04 am

A few facts that I learned about Frank Marks were that he enjoys working to improve peoples knowledge on hurricanes and help people prepare for major storms. Also he flew in and out of hurricane storms over 450 times! One of them being hurricane Hugo. (That is so cool!) His favorite scientist is also Isaac Newton. I would like to ask him a few things about his life and profession. One is what was it like flying through a hurricane? What was the most dangerous and/or exciting part? I would also like to ask him, if you could be any hurricane what one would it be? The last question I would like to ask him is, would you want to go into a storm more intense then Hugo? If you could, why or why not?

Reply
Meredith
2/15/2012 05:33:46 am

Before you mentioned Frank Marks to our class I had never heard of him. Now that we got this blog I ‘ve been able to read and gather facts about him and his amazing job. The two most interesting things that I have learned about Frank Marks, to me, are: That Frank Marks works both in the office and in fieldwork. He says that, "However, one of the more enjoyable parts of my scientific career has been being involved in field work" He says he feels lucky to be one of the few people in the world to fly into a hurricane; he enjoys his job a lot. Another fact I learned about Frank Marks is that he has flown into the eye of a hurricane over 450 times!!! From weak hurricanes like Gabriella, which was in 2001 to Andrew, which was in 1992. I find that amazing!!! How he has survived going into the eye of the storm over 450 times. If I had to ask Frank Marks a question my two questions would be: What first got you interested into hurricanes? I’d ask him this because I am interested in knowing when he decided to try this job. The other question that I may chose to ask him is, What do you feel when your inside a hurricane? I would like to know this because I’m interested in what he feels, thinks and how he takes it all in.

Reply
gilly
2/15/2012 05:37:33 am

one of the two new things that I learned about Dr. marks is that he won the 2010 suomi award.
Another thing that I learned about Dr. marks is that he specialized in radar remote sensing. One question that I have is what is it like to win the suomi award. Another question that I have is why does NOAA specialize in hurricanes and other weather.

Reply
Delia
2/15/2012 05:46:41 am

Dr. Marks seems like a very interesting person. I have learned that he has gotten three awards. Those awards are the U.S. Department of Commerce Silver Medal, the Gold Medal for Hurricane Research, and the Distinguished Authorship Award. Those awards are really important. I also learned that Dr. Marks studied at Massachusetts Institute of Technology and got two degrees in meteorology. I have many questions for Dr. Marks, too. What do you think is the most important thing that you have done for hurricane research? What do you think is important about hurricane research? I would like to learn more about Dr. Marks.

Reply
Emily
2/15/2012 05:59:45 am

At first Frank was fascinated by the science of weather forecasting. Now he is more attracted in adding information toward the broader topic of helping people in the community prepare for hurricanes and give the community the most accurate and clear information probable about a storm and its awaited impacts on the community.
He works in both the field and the office. One of the more entertaining parts of his scientific vocation has been being involved in fieldwork.
When he was a kid he was engrossed in science and had a high ability for math. In junior high he delivered newspapers and he once noticed one of my neighbors had a number of meteorological apparatuses in his yard. It turned out he was a science teacher at the local high school.

The most picturesque experience for Frank was breaking into a clear eye after hovering in clouds for most of an assignment. Sadly, not all eyes are clear. Flying into an eye would be known by most people to be intimidating and quite nerve raking.




A few Questions I would have for Frank Marks would be

1. What was the largest amount of hurricanes in the Atlantic Ocean at the same time?
2. Are Hurricanes possibly happening on other planets?
3. Has there ever been an effort or investigation to reduce the might of a hurricane?
4. How is a storm surge witnessed?
5. How much lighting can possibly ensue in a hurricane?

Reply
Austin
2/15/2012 06:16:28 am

I have some possible questions and I learned about Dr. Frank Marks. One possible question I have is “If you were not a meteorologist or Director of Hurricane Research what do you think your occupation will be?” another question I have is “Would It be related to weather?” one fact that I have learned about Dr. Frank Marks is that not only is he a meteorologist and a director, but he is also an Adjunct Professor of Meteorology and Physical Oceanography. Another fact I have learned is that ever since 1996 Dr. Frank Marks has participated in the NAOS working group.

Reply
Lara
2/15/2012 06:17:09 am

My questions for Dr. Marks are:
1. When you were in sixth grade did you want to be a meteorologist, and what made you want to become one?
2. Why do you feel that the Geostationary Doppler Radar will be the next major instrument to help better understand hurricanes?


I learned that, in the 30 years Dr. Marks has worked for NOAA, he has flown through 450 hurricanes and 3 of them were, Hugo, Andrew, and Gabrielle, Andrew and Hugo were the worst. I also learned that, during 9 or 10 hours of the flight, he penetrates the eye 5 or 6 times.

Reply
Ethan
2/15/2012 06:21:07 am


By reading these articles I learned that Dr. Frank Marks has received the prestigious Verner E. Suomi Award given by the American Meteorological Society.
Now you may be wondering what the Suomi award is. Well I can tell you that this award is presented in recognition of highly significant technological achievement in the atmospheric or related sciences.
Dr. Frank Marks is the 14th recipient of the award, Marks is being honored for his use of airborne Doppler radar.
I also learned that he was the Chairman for the National Science Foundation (NSF) in 1996.
My 2 questions for him are:
1. What information can you get from an airplane that has flown into the eye of a storm that you can’t get from gathering data from a laboratory on the ground instead?
2. Why is it so important to get the data about the hurricane when it costs so much money?

Reply
Sierra Flores
2/15/2012 06:49:35 am

I recently researched about Mr. Frank Marks he is the director of hurricane research and a Meteorologist for NOAA’s Hurricane Research Division in Miami, FL. I think that it’s really interesting to have a job that you get to go and fly into hurricanes to see how bad it is and then you get to go evacuate the area if it’s serious. He mostly studies tropical storms, what they do, and how they work. He is very important to the NOAA because he tells them what’s going on with hurricanes all over the country. I have a few questions the first one is if you could invent any gadget to make your job easier, what would it be? Why? My second question is do you have any advice for a student here who may want to follow into this choice as their career?

Reply
Dante
2/15/2012 06:54:00 am

The first thing I learned about Frank Marks is he’s been working and flying into hurricanes for 30 years! Another thing I learned about him is that he has flown into some very strong hurricanes such as hurricane Andrew and Hugo. Frank Marks received the Verner E. Suomi Award by the American Meteorological Society. My first question is, “I know that flying through hurricanes are dangerous but have you ever been in a life or death situation, and if so what was it like, and if not what are some bad situations that could happen flying through a hurricane?” My last question is “What would be a dream for you to do something that had to do with hurricanes and flying through them.”

Reply
2/15/2012 07:00:46 am

One of the things that Dr. Marks said was how he was a scientist. When I first read this I was kind of confused. I thought scientists only worked in labs and wore white lab coats. But now I know that they also do some really cool things like flying into storms. If I could be a scientist, I would want to be the kind that studies the plant life of exotic places in the world.
Another thing that stood out in the interview is the hurricane's eye. Dr. Marks said it is the most beautiful part of the flight. I know that it's the most calm part, but why is it so beautiful? In movies about monster storms, the eye is usually near an island. I wonder if that is why Dr. Marks calls the eye the most beautiful part?
Hear are my two questions for Dr. Marks:
1. Why is it that down on land the eye of the storm is usually clear, when in the plane, it's usually scary?
2. Do you use any meteorological instruments? If you do, then which ones?

Reply
Alyssa :)
2/15/2012 07:01:24 am

QUESTION #1
When you are flying inside a hurricane, what is it that you do up there to help try to find a better weather forecast system?

QUESTION #2
Have you ever experienced any problems during one of your flights? If so, what was it? How did you deal with it?

Reply
andrew
2/15/2012 07:05:50 am

First thing I learned about Frank Marks is that he likes instead of doing work in his office he likes to work out in the field. I can understand that because I would rather be out in the field with action and fun instead of seating in a computer chair in my office. Another thing I learned is that Frank Marks has bean flying through hurricanes for 30 years. I think that is amazing because it must take a lot of guts and bravery to fly through a hurricane the size of hurricane Andrew

Reply
Cassidy <3
2/15/2012 07:16:48 am

One new thing I learned about Dr. Frank Marks is that he work's in both the field and the office. Another thing I learned about him is that he new he wanted to pursue science as a kid because he was interested in science and liked math a lot, and during the next five years, he learned how to take observations of the atmosphere, plot the observations on a map with other data collected around the country, analyze the observations, and use them to make forecasts of the local weather. His passion continued into college as a meteorology major and his attention shifted to why the weather behaved the way it did, and he wanted to get a graduate degree. He received the Suomi Award for highly significant technological achievement. Frank Marks is being honored for his creative use of airborne Doppler radar and other technologies to help understand the dynamics of tropical cyclones. Marks has flown more than 200 research missions in tropical cyclones aboard NOAA’s hurricane hunter aircraft. If I could ask him a question it would be, what is it like flying into a hurricane?, are you scared before you fly into a hurricane?, do you enjoy your job, or what is one of your work goals that you would like to achieve?

Reply
alex
2/15/2012 07:18:04 am

I learned several things about Dr. Mark and one of those things is that he has a Ph.D. I think this interesting because I didn’t know you need a Ph.D. to become a hurricane hunter. Also that I didn’t know you needed a Ph.D. to become the director of the hurricane research at the NOAA (Nation Ocean Atmospheric Administration). Another thing I learned is that he has been working for the NOAA for 30 years. Throughout the 30 years he has been working there he has even flown through monster storms called hurricanes. Some questions I have for him are what made you want to become a hurricane hunter? And how many hurricanes you have flown in to? Are you ever afraid?

Reply
Darren
2/15/2012 07:26:43 am

The question(s) that I would like to ask Dr. Frank Marks are how was the longest hurricane build up over the ocean over time? I would like to ask this question because I am interested in the change over time over the ocean and what was the longest hurricane build up with the winds.

The second question (or other option) I would like to ask is do you make I.L.S. approaches in the airplane going through the hurricane and into the hurricane. I.L.S. means Instrument landing system. I would basically want to know if he uses his interments for approaching the hurricane.

Reply
Meagan
2/15/2012 07:51:58 am

I learned a lot about Frank Marks. One thing I learned was that Frank’s favorite scientist is Isaac Newton, this is because, and he applied his knowledge to everyday needs, thinking outside the box. The second thing I learned was that he has been flying into hurricanes for 30 years, and he has penetrated the eye of the hurricane over 450 times. The one thing I want to learn about Frank Marks is, what kind of training did you have to go through for your job? The second thing I learned is, how has the technology changed since you first started your job?

Reply
damien
2/15/2012 07:55:21 am

One new fact I learned about Frank Marks is that he has had the same job career for thirty years. The second new fact I learned about him is that he has flown into the eyes of a hurricane over four hundred fifty times. One question I would ask him is ''do you have to use any special protective gear?'' The second question I would ask him is ''is it extra dangerous if you go into a hurricane if there is a thunder storm?''

Reply
Sophia
2/15/2012 08:03:54 am


In reading those articles I learned a lot of things. One of which is that he has been doing this for 30 years. That’s a long time! Another very interesting fact that I read was that he has flown in and out of the eye over 450. That means that, if I did my math correct, he flew in and out of the eye 15 times each year. And he said over 450 times so even more. One question that I have is ‘How long does it usually take to fly in and out of a hurricane?’ Another question I have is ‘What does the plane looks like on the inside?’ I know that it’s not a normal plane; it would probably get ripped apart if you flew it into a hurricane.

Reply
alexa t.
2/15/2012 08:16:56 am

Frank Marks has been a meteorologist with the Hurricane Research Division at the Atlantic Oceanographic and Meteorology Laboratories for NOAA since 1980, and director since 2003. As I have been researching about Dr. Frank Marks I found out how he had his passion to become a meteorologist. His passion continued into college as meteorology major and his attention shifted to why the weather behaved the way it did, deciding to continue his education by getting a graduate degree. His research experience while in graduate school led him to focus on hurricane research. One other thing I learned about Dr. Frank Marks was that he has been flying through hurricanes for 30 years and has flown in and out of the eye (they call this a penetration) over 450 times. That must be brave and really challenging to do.

3 questions I have for Dr. Frank Marks are:
1. How did you build these planes you fly in during the time you’re flying through the hurricanes? Are they made differently than other planes? If so, what did you make them out of? Anything different than a normal airplane?
2. Besides your favorite scientist, has anyone ever influenced you to be who you are today?
3. When you’re ready to fly into the eye of the hurricane how do you and your crew prepare? What things do you do?

Reply
Vishwanka
2/15/2012 09:13:16 am

I learned two new things that from reading these articles. One of them was that it takes about nine to ten hours in duration with four to six penetrations, to get to the eye of the hurricane. Another thing that I learned from reading these articles, was that the people use a geostationary Doppler radar as their instrument. This radar collects the hurricane lifecycle. A question that I have for Mr. Marks is when you go into the eye of the storm, how can you tell what category the hurricane would classify under? Another question I have is how do you get in and out how the hurricane?

Reply
Max
2/15/2012 09:19:32 am

Based on what I have learned on Frank Marks I have to say that he did some amazing feats. One of my questions is, “Why did you decide to fly through hurricanes and what made you start doing it.” I ask this because he into over four hundred hurricane eyes. My second question is, “What was it like to be awarded the Suomi medallion.” I ask this based on the fact that it is a big award that not many people have earned. The award also requires a lot of knowledge about the subject given.

Reply
Marcus
2/15/2012 09:27:42 am

As a hurricane hunter, he needs to show where and how strong a hurricane is so people know how and when to prepare. He has also been given an award for being a good meteorologist. I would like to know how he fly's through the hurricane without his ship breaking or crashing. I would also like to know if one of these things have ever happened before.

Reply
Maia S.
2/15/2012 09:34:44 am



I have learned many interesting things about Dr. Marks, and
one of the things that really interested me about him and his job is the fact that not only does he work in a office, but he also does field work and prefers it! In fact,he feels very lucky to be able to do all of the field work( like flying into hurricanes).
It also really interested me to know that he's flown through over 450 hurricanes, including hurricane Andrew and hurricane Hugo! He said that the toughest one by far was Hugo, which I could understand, considering how bad Hugo was. It really must have been scary to go into a huge hurricane and encounter 170 mile per hour winds.
Also, it was cool to know that each flight lasts about 9-10 hours.
 Another thing I thought was cool was finding out about all the stuff he has in his lab. It turns out he has to use a computer a lot, and Dr. Marks does not enjoy it all that much. What he said he really loves is talking and communicating to all the other people.
Also, it was really cool to learn what made Dr. Marks want to pursue the field of science. Turns out as a kid he liked science and math, and in junior high,when he used to deliver the newspaper, he noticed one of his neighboors had meteorological equipment in his backyard, so Dr. Marks started using it!
He also went into college as a meteorology major.
The last interesting thing I found inside the NOAA interview was Dr. Marks' favorite scientist. His favorite scientist is Isaac Newton, the scientist that discovered gravity. It has been a lot of fun learning all about Frank Marks, and I am very excited for when we get to Skype with him.
Some questions I would like to ask Dr. Frank Marks are
How is a hurricane's formation different from a tornado's formation?
Another one is, Are cyclones different from hurricane, and if so, how different?

Reply
Ivan F
2/15/2012 09:39:19 am

I learned two things about Dr. Marks. The first thing was that he worked for the NOAA for 30 years. The second fact is that Dr. Marks flew through 450 hurricanes, In and out. I have 7 questions for him.
1. What does it take to keep track of all the weather going on in North America?
2. How did you feel when you had to fly through high turbulence and 170mph winds?
3. Was it hard for you to get the diploma and join the NOAA?
4. I read in a article and it that you like to work alone. Why?
5. How did you feel when you earned your medals?
6. What was one of the most fun field mission you ever been on?
7. What college did you graduate from?

Reply
jacob
2/15/2012 10:23:04 am

Dr. Frank Marks had 2 degrees at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Dr. Frank Marks also has 10 different awards and honors awarded to him by the NOAA

2 questions I would ask him would be…

What motivated you to become a meteorologist/ hurricane hunter?

Do you live in Florida because it’s on the coast and because of the frequent hurricanes?

Or are you a hurricane hunter in Florida because of Miami University?

Reply
Charlotte
2/15/2012 10:29:29 am

One new thing I learned about Dr. Marks was that over the course of his entire career he has flown over 200 research missions in tropical cyclones with NOAA.  I found that very interesting because that makes me wonder how many he usually flies a year, and how many years he has worked at his job.  A second new thing I learned was that Dr. Mark's has a very high number of awards and is very well educated.  His awards include gold, silver and browse medals for a number of different things and that surprised me because I didn't think meteorologists got that many wards.  

One of the questions I have for Dr. Marks is, Has there ever been a time when it might have been too dangerous to go into a hurricane? If it was going to be very dangerous would you go any way?
The second question I have is, If a hurricane was scheduled to be very bad, and you were going to go into the eye of the storm, but later the hurricane turned into a tropical storm, would you still go into the eye or would it not be worth the trip? 

Reply
Hannah G
2/15/2012 10:32:13 am

Frank Marks is an interesting person. Imagine flying through hurricanes and seeing what the storm is like before it hits? Frank Marks has done that! Did you know that Frank Marks has been flying through hurricanes since 1980? Imagine flying through hurricane Katrina, would you be scared? I know I would be. Frank Marks is a member in the American meteorologist society. Imagine one day you fly through a hurricane, what would you see, would you be nervous? While I was researching Frank Marks I came up with some possible questions. Have the conditions of a hurricane ever been so severe that you had to land your flight? What was the worst hurricane that you have ever flown through?

Reply
Taylor C.
2/15/2012 10:38:55 am

Dr. Frank Marks is director of hurricane research at NOAA’s Atlantic Oceanographic and Meteorological Laboratory in Miami. One things that I learned about him were, in jan. 2011 Dr. Marks received the Suomi medallion for his work on the airborne Doppler radar. The second fact I learned is, Dr. Marks has been a researcher in AOML’s Hurricane Research Division since 1980.

A question I would have for him is, how is the Doppler effect (the frequency of a wave changing over a period of time) used in meteorology?

Another question I would have is, when you fly through a tropical cyclone, do you find it unsettling to know that the flight might be fatal?

Reply
katie
2/15/2012 10:46:53 am

During my research on Dr. Marks, I learned that I was most interested in why he wanted to pursue science. He was always interested in science and one day when he was delivering a newspaper to his neighbor he found a card in his yard. It had a phone number on it for metrological instruments. It turns out his neighbor was a local science teacher in a high school. For the next five years he learned how to take observations of the atmosphere and so on. His passion for science continued in college where he was a meteorology major. His attention shifted to why the weather behaves the way it does. If I could ask two questions to DR. MARKS, I would not know where to start but here is what I came up with.
1. Dr. Marks, if you never found that card on your neighbor’s yard do you think you would still do what you do today. If so, why?
2. Dr. Marks, did you have to give up anything in your life to do what you do now? If you did, what was it? and why did you give it up to get where you are today?

Reply
Ellie
2/15/2012 10:55:52 am

One thing I learned about Dr.Marks is that he has been the director of the hurricane part of a NOAA lab since 2003. Something else I learned about Dr.Marks is he won the Verner E. Suomi Award. A question I have for Dr.Marks is, is it difficult to enter the eye of the storm, and how do you do so? The last question I have is, what is a Doppler radar?

Reply
Ava
2/15/2012 10:56:32 am

After reading all the articles I think I narrowed it down to 2 facts about Frank Marks and 2 questions. "over the past years he has been involved in over 200 research missions in tropical cyclones aboard NOAA’s hurricane hunter aircraft.". One other fact that really stuck out was; In addition to the Suomi Award, Marks has received other awards during his tenure with NOAA, including many for his outstanding performance as a federal manager and leader in the scientific community. I have many questions I wish I can ask him but the 2 that I think about boggles everyones mind. What did it feel like going into your first tropical cyclone, were you amazed by the sight and the blood rushing through you or were you waiting for it to end? How important was it that you did the scientific part the right way I mean it must have caught on after the first 200 times? I can't wait to meet him!

Reply
Maccray R.
2/15/2012 08:10:23 pm

One thing I learned about Frank Marks is that not only does he study just hurricanes and natural disasters; he studies so many varieties of science. Some examples are, marine and atmospheric research, he’s a member of the American Meteorological Society, he was a researcher for NOAA, and is an associate producer of physical oceanography. I also learned that he has a lot of jobs having to do with research, before this I was thinking that he might just be the one flying the planes, not learning about hurricanes too. One question I have for Frank is, is it necessary to research before you go on a journey chasing after natural disasters, or can you just learn all about them by seeing one up close. My final question is, does having a background with science help you discover more about natural disasters. For example when you’re researching let’s say a hurricane and you already know about oceanography, could you maybe tie these two together and make a prediction on what might happen if the hurricane stays in the water.

Reply
2/16/2012 08:24:01 am

Today I learned that Frank Marks flies through hurricanes six months a year from June 1st to November 30th. Another thing that I learned about Frank Marks is that he has had his job as the director of NOAA for 30 years! A question that I have for Frank Marks is when did you divide you wanted to be part of NOAA? When you did did you want to become the director of NOAA or was it un intentionanal?

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.

    Directions on how to leave a comment:
    1. You will find a "comment" button at the top of the post, directly across from the date.
    2. Once you click on that, scroll down and you will find a comment box.
    3. Please enter your name. You don't need to leave your last name. You DO NOT need to add any email or other contact information.
    4. Enter your comment in the box. (Watch for punctuation! Reread and check it over before pressing submit.)
    5. Press Submit! A message will appear stating "your comment is awaiting approval." Check back later to view your comment posted on the page!

    Archives

    June 2012
    May 2012
    February 2012
    January 2012
    December 2011
    November 2011
    October 2011
    September 2011
    August 2011

    Categories

    All