Congratulations! You successfully completed your first LEGO Challenge, the race! For homework tonight you will be answerings the following questions in atleast TWO Paragraphs!

- How did your team do? How long did it take you to complete the challenge?
- What was the hardest part of the challenge?
-Now that the first part of LEGO's is over and we have working computers what do you think has been the hardest about this unit?
- What will you do differently in your groups for next time?
- What do you love or like about this unit and challenge? What are you looking forward to for the next challenge the robot dance-off!

Please check your work carefully!!!!
Meaghan
10/24/2011 05:39:28 am

One thing that our team did well was how we all worked together nicely. We were able to get things done a lot faster. We were one of the first groups done because of that! This showed in our robot. Even though our robot stopped half way because of friction and we got a ten second penalty because of that. We walked away with a very low time of two minutes fourteen seconds.
But all did not go smoothly. Because not only did the robot not hit the finish line, but it almost did not go backwards at all! This is because of the fact that the back wheel (that we tried to fix one million times) got stuck and kept on going round and round. For those of you who can't picture a robot going round and round because of a tiny wheel, it's like two people rowing and only one doing the work.
The hardest part of this challenge hands down was having the robot go backwards. We tried over and over to fix the back wheel but it just didn't work. Another tough thing was programming. We had to count out every square and then do the math for how many rotations it took to go a foot. Then we had to multiply it by the number of squares. It was so time consuming!
One thing I would do different in the dancing challenge is go over with Ms.Scollins all the rules and regulations before we wasted any time. But I what I really am thinking about and looking forward to is playing with LEGOS again and seeing a robot we made dance.

Reply
I am Dante (fear me) :) :)
10/24/2011 06:02:57 am

I think we did pretty well but I’m not sure because I don’t know how well the other teams did. On our first try we got 3:13 on our second 3:00 and on our third 2:51. The hardest part of the challenge was either steering or trying to find out how to make the robot go faster. I personally didn’t think this unit was hard probably because I’ve done Lego robotics before. In my groups next time I will try to work better with Taylor because even though we don’t get along he can have really great ideas sometimes. I loved the whole thing because I love Lego’s and making them into to robots is even cooler. I’m really excited for the robot dance off because we have more freedom in what we can do.

Reply
alex
10/24/2011 06:30:07 am

I think my team did pretty well on the first Lego challenge. We got an average time of 2 minutes and 40 seconds when we went down the hallway and back. The hardest part of the challenge was knowing how many rotations we needed to go from one end to another. I think this is because there were a lot of numbers and a lot of testing plus a lot of changing our program. The hardest part of this unit is agreeing to other peoples' ideas. I think this because other people in your group have ideas and you cannot just say lets do my idea and that’s that. You have to listen to each other and either agree on one idea or compromise with some of everyone’s ideas.

My group could work together better next time. For one particular part, me and Leo S. chose the team name. Emily and Lara chose the logo. So I think we could choose stuff as a team next time by talking and then listening to each others' ideas as a group. I liked this unit and challenge because we got to build LEGO robots. We put a lot of effort into making it and it was fun to see other robots race against the time. At the race we got to see how it all tied together. I’m looking forward to choosing a song the robot can dance off to next time and programming the robot to dance.

Reply
Emily
10/24/2011 06:31:02 am

My team did exceptionally well. Our final time was 2:42. We rebuilt the robot before entering the race, which only took about 10 minutes to complete. The hardest part of this challenge was facing higher times against other teams. The times were difficult to face even though we did not beat 2:28 we are still very proud of the place our robot came in 3rd. The hardest part about this unit was programming the robot. It took awhile to figure out how fast we should make the robot and how long the distance was. I believe my group should work on how we build the robot and program the robot. This would make the making of the robot easier for our group and take less time to complete the programming. I liked the fact that we were able to create robots that could move and the thought of racing was very fun. I had never built a robot before so this was a very thrilling experience.

Reply
Meredith ;)
10/24/2011 06:33:46 am

In LEGO robotics my group did very well when we were putting the robot together. We finished early and had time to add and take away things on our robot. Our team also did very well in the race. We had three turns to race our robots and try to get the best time. The TWO teams with the best times race against each other after all the robots have gone THREE times! I think our team got the 2nd best time out of both of the homerooms which isn't bad but it would've been nice if our group got in first! Our best time was 2:28 we were only 4 seconds away from the best time in our class, 2:24!!! The hardest part of the challenge was the actually robot! Sometimes the robot wouldn't go straight or it crashed and then stopped. Another difficult thing was the programing and building. For the programing you had to be exact and with the building if you messed up once you were in trouble. The hardest thing about the LEGO'S unit overall would be building the robot. There were so many pieces that it became overwhelming to me! You had to make sure that you used all the right pieces and that you didn't mess up once. That was very hard.

What will you do differently in your groups for next time? I would do exactly what I did with my group this time. Maybe stay on task a little bit more but everyone gets off topic once and a while, right? One thing I loved about this experience was racing our robots! I thought that that was a lot of fun! We got to time our robot and steer our robot during the race. Our LEGO robotics group made it talk and we came up with the idea for a leash (which helped our group, but I don't know why!) I am looking forward to picking a song for the next challenge and coming up with a way for it to dance! The next unit will be lots and lots of fun!!!!! GO SWAGGER G'S! (Our group’s name)!

Reply
Erin
10/24/2011 06:33:51 am

Hi Mrs S. here is my home work:

I think that our team did very well. I think we did better then we thought we would. The best time my team got was 2: 24 .I think that the hardest part of the unit was building the robots. It was hard trying to get some pieces that we needed for our robot.


The hardest part of the challenge was that our robot did not go straight and it was like it was drawn to the walls. What I would do differently about my group is maybe have a little more time to build so we can have the full time for the programming. I loved that we had some freedom with it. I did not like when are robot would hit into walls because it did not go straight. I’m looking forward to working with new people and teaching my robot how to dance.

Reply
Darren :P
10/24/2011 06:49:04 am

My group worked really well together. We managed our time and got along perfectly.
We built our robot and were ready to program right away. For us, programming did not take long at all. Before we knew it, we were finished. In the robot race today, our first time was 2 minutes and 52 seconds. Our second time was 2 minutes and 49 seconds. Our third and best time was 2 minutes and 27 seconds.

Our hardest challenge with programming the robots was, making the robot talk. This was hard because at first, we barley knew how to work Mindstorm. But we had great help from our teacher, Mrs.
Scollins. :).

We will work more as a group meaning, we work on everything together not half our group on this and half our group on that.

I loved this unit because it was really interesting in so many ways. Like helping ourselves on working with people you may or may not like. I really like our group because we are really productive. I cant wait for the robot dance off with me, Nick, Ava, and Meredith. :)

Reply
Vincent
10/24/2011 07:02:47 am

Today we raced our Lego robots and it was awesome. We were the second team to race. We raced our robot three times. Our best score was 2:31 which was our second run. Our first run we had a time of 2:45 and our last run we scored 2:43. I think our team did very well. I know that on our second run we beat the other team. The other team accused us of cheating because they thought Jacob was pulling the robot faster. The biggest challenge in racing our Lego robots was guiding them so that it did not hit a wall. Also kneeling on the floor hurt your knees and your back after a while.

The hardest part of this challenge was rebuilding our robot after we had met with our mentors from Pace. Our first creation did not follow the directions and did not turn. With their help, we learned how to build our robot so that it would work. We now know for text time to follow the directions more carefully and to take our time when building our robot. I liked working in a team and building with Legos.

Our next challenge the robot dance off should be fun because I am looking forward to programming the dance routine. I think that since the movements will be harder it will be more challenging than just making the robot go back and forth. I think it will be exciting to see how creative we can be in programming our dance routines.

Reply
Hanna
10/24/2011 07:10:14 am

I think our group did pretty well. Our best time in the race was 2:31. That was on our second try. The hardest part of the challenge was getting our robot to go in the right direction. He kept veering off to the left. I tried guiding him for one of the races, but he was really hard to steer. He is a strong little robot! For me, the hardest thing in the unit was programming. I had no idea what the little programming squares meant, no matter how hard people tried to teach me. I think that was the hardest for my group, too. We were all pretty confused about programming.
Next time, I think our group will follow the instructions on how to build the robot. That way, we won’t have our robot falling apart and have to rebuild it. If we do that, we will have more time to program than we did. We only had about two days to program. What I like about this unit is that it’s a hands - on project. It’s not just studying how other people built robots and making a poster about it or something. We actually got to build robots! I thought just that fact was really cool. I am looking forward to attaching all the sensors for the dance – off! I am also looking forward to attempting programming to get it to dance!

Reply
Ava
10/24/2011 07:13:59 am

My team was Meredith,Darren and Nick. My team worked very well together I think we acceded our goals for the race. I think we finished the challenge in a great amount of time. When some teams were on programing we were on the sound affects. The challenges we faced were the same as all the other teams. When we began programing we were all confused luckily the PACE students came the next day.

The hardest part about this first part of this Lego part was keeping control of not touching the Lego pieces. I would probably let my group let them (me to) be creative with the song choice and how it would dance. I love how we were able to create technology making Lego pieces come to life. Im looking foward to making it move and jerk like it's doing the robot. I can't wait until we can record our own voices.

My best time was 2:28 so that's when we used the leash. Our worst time was 2:52 when we didn't use the leash.

Reply
Meagan
10/24/2011 07:29:18 am

Personally I don’t think my team did so well in the contest, are best time was 3 minutes 51 seconds, which isn’t really that good. I think that the hardest thing about the challenge was that our programming didn’t work at all. The hardest part was definitely the programming and trying to get the correct mathematics.
Next time I think my group will try to get the programming better. One thing I liked about the LEGO unit was the actual building of the robot. Next time I’m really looking forward to trying to make it dance to a song.

Reply
Ivan
10/24/2011 07:40:43 am

For the Lego robotic race my team did pretty well. It took us about a month to complete our challenge at the most. The hardest part of the challenge for my group probably was when we had to program the robot. We never knew if the program would work or not until we actually tested it. The hardest part about this unit was for the whole group to decide how we would build our robot. Everyone in the group had a different design for the robot in mind. It was hard to agree on how the robot would look like.
What my group could do differently next time is to add the big wheels instead of the two small wheels and to make the robot drive backwards instead of making it turn around and drive forward. If you make the robot drive backwards it will lose time in a good way and get in front of everyone else’s robots, while they take the time to turn around and that makes them gain time in a bad way. What I liked about the unit was when we made our robots, because I used my experience from the math camp since we did Lego’s there as well. I am looking forward to the robot dance-off. That will be fun!

Reply
Delia
10/24/2011 07:42:48 am

My team did not do so well. Our robot was fine until it had to go backwards. When the robot tried to go backwards it started swirling around and going in circles. Half way back it would use all the energy it had and stop the program. It took us quite a long time to complete the challenge. The hardest part of the challenge was figuring out what to do. My group tried so many things, but none were right. The back wheel of our robot caused a lot of problems. The hardest part of the LEGO unit was probably trying to find solutions for all of the problems that my group faced when we tried to build, program, and test our robot.

Next time I would like to test the robot more often. During this unit my group spent way to much time trying out possible back wheels that we barely had time to practice racing our robot. We didn’t know what it would do. I love how this unit is challenging. I also love building with LEGO bricks. I am looking foreword to the robot dance-off a lot. I think it will be really funny watching robots try to dance. It will be hard work, but really fun.

Reply
Nicholas S.
10/24/2011 07:53:51 am

My team did amazing since, we worked really well together and we accomplished a fantastic time of 2:28 seconds with a one second penalty. The hardest part of the challenge for me was not the racing part but making our robot say happy birthday to Dr. Ardito. In the end we just had to say it ourselves. The hardest part of this unit was probably the building since we had to start over a couple times. Personally I would not do anything differently since we got everything right and covered really good time to complete our robot. What I liked about the challenge was the building since it gave us a challenge within a challenge. I’m looking forward to the robot dance off because our team is called the SWAGGER G’s and our robot is going to move and groove to “Moves like Jagger”. :}{:

Reply
Ashley<3
10/24/2011 08:13:45 am

First, our team did just okay because our robot did not touch the starting line or the finish line so we got a 2 second penalty. On our second turn, we did better because we went over the starting line then we just went over the finish line. Third, we did the best! Our robot just touched the starting line and the finish line! Also our timing for the race was 2 minutes and 28 seconds! That was our best record. It took a couple of days to program the robot. It took us a long time to build the robot. When we were racing, it took a while because everyone had to go 3 times and it took almost 3 periods! The hardest part about the challenge was the programming because our group did not really know how to program it. The hardest part about this unit was figuring out how far it was from one line to another and when the robot did touch the line or went past it we had to reprogram it and then start all over again. Also, it was hard to build the robot because at the end some groups told us that the robot will move faster with fewer things on it, so we took the head off, and some other pieces that did not really look that important. Something that we will do differently is that we will put the right pieces on in the right place and also not waste our time putting on things that we really do not need. Also we will put more wheels on so that the robot has more support. Something I liked about this challenge was that it was really fun racing the robots against one another and seeing the other groups’ robot. Something I liked about this unit was building the robot as a team and seeing my group’s talents on robots. Something I am looking forward for the next challenge is picking the song and creating the dance that our robot will perform.

Reply
Hannah
10/24/2011 08:39:23 am

Our team honestly did have a few struggles. One the hardest struggles was that my team didn’t know how many durations to use, so then when it reached the line it just kept on going and never went back until we turned it around. Now that the first part of the race is over I think that the hardest part is figuring out the right number of durations and other things on the NXT software programming that were harder to figure out. So the hardest thing over all was using the NXT programming.
I think that next time my group my whole group should take time to really figure struggles (hard things with the programming) out instead of doing 4 different things at a time. That means building, programming and doing the math all at the same time because that gets really confusing as a group. I like how the unit is fun. It is interesting because it is also showing you the different ways that people do science instead of just simple science experiments. It is really cool because you get to make lego’s go places with out you having to hold them. I am looking forward to seeing the robot dance off because I love to dance and I’m on dance team so it seems like its going to be an awesome challenge. I cant wait!

Reply
Taylor
10/24/2011 08:51:17 am

My team did pretty well, we touched both lines all three times. It took us 2:51.11 on our fasted run and 3:13 on our slowest run. We took of the leash, which slowed us down. We also had an idea; if we restrained the wires using the small black bolts the wires wouldn’t jam the steering back wheel. Those made us improve 22 seconds.
I think that the hardest part has been adjusting to the fact that the robot pulled left while racing. We solved this when we where allowed to adjust the trajectory of the robot while it was racing by turning it. Honestly I don’t know what I will do differently in my groups next time because it is impossible because we have no idea what challenges we will face. I loved the building of the robot. I am looking forward to building the robot maybe differently to be compatible for the dance.

Reply
Alexa
10/24/2011 09:08:14 am

I think my team did very well. Our best time was 2:31 so that’s how long it took my team. The hardest part of the challenge I think was having to guide our robot, and that it was going slow so that just put more time on the timer. The hardest part was actually building the robot because, the first time we didn’t build it so well so we had to take apart our robot, than rebuild it “following” the directions. Then programming the robot was somewhat hard but we did it pretty quick and our robot looked pretty good in the end.

I would definitely follow the directions and make sure we know what program name is saved in our robot brain so we don’t use the wrong one, and have to start the race all over. I really liked how cool the robot actually looked when I first saw it move! I was so happy and proud of my group because at the end we did a really good job! It was also really cool how we met the PACE university people and I really liked putting the robot together! I’m looking forward to picking a song and putting our robot sensors on and everything and it will look so awesome when we see our robot actually dancing! I can’t wait to put it together and see it actually happen soon!

Reply
Sierra
10/24/2011 09:11:39 am

I think in the beginning my group somewhat struggled with the fact we had gotten a two second penalty because our robot didn’t touch either of the finish lines. I think the hardest part of the challenge was trying to find the exact time that the robot needs to cross both of the finish lines. Another thing I thought was hard to do was programming the robots, before the pace students came we had no idea how to program it. I think the next unit’s most difficult topic will be choreographing a dance to teach the robot.
What I would do differently is share the amount of work that is due because the boys in my group felt that they constantly had to just watch my friend and myself do all the work while they sat down and occasionally helped us with a thing or two. Another thing I would want to do better next time is try to make our robot better then we did this competition. One thing I loved about this assignment was seeing the final product. Something I’m exited about for the new project is figuring out what song my group is picking for the dance challenge.

Reply
leonardo rinaldi
10/24/2011 09:17:01 am

The team did well. I think it took three days to build the robot, but I am not entirely sure. The hardest part was doing the brain, we had to do four brains! I am looking forward for the robot to dance with other robots. Maybe next time I can do more in the team. I sort of liked the race.

Reply
10/24/2011 09:26:32 am

I think that our team did OK in the race, we got 2:28 I think. The hardest part was that you couldn’t change the program after a race. I think that the hard part of the unit was the programming. I think that it was hard because you had to figure out how many rotations it was and that type of stuff.

Reply
Sean S
10/24/2011 09:33:58 am

My team thought we should rip of the back wheel because it was wobblely. So our best time was nothing. The hardest part of the challenge was working my group. It was hard because of measuring the wheel rotation and how far it should go. I will try to be a leader and lead my group to victory. I liked working with LEGOS and have since I was little.

Reply
Marcus
10/24/2011 09:38:35 am

The hardest part was probably getting the back wheel to either stay in one place or swivel to make it go under our robot. I am not looking forward to the robot dance off because of having to do so much programming. if you have a three minute song you have to do an hour of programming. Turn left 40 degrees, go back 1.5 rotations, move right ten degrees. Lots of all of this going on. And what if your robot does not even work? Then you have to make a new program start all over again.

Reply
Claire
10/24/2011 09:51:53 am

Our team (Mindstorm Masters) did ok. Our best time was 2:51. The first time we tested it, the leash slowed the robot down and the wire got caught in the wheel. When we took off the leash, the wire still got stuck and we adjusted the robot too much. Finally, we got our best time in the third try. As they say “the third’s a charm.” The hardest part was agreeing with each other. People wanted to keep this and wanted to take out that and so on and so on. Next time, I would like to participate more in the programming and building of the robot. In the robot dance, I would like to use my time more wisely.

Reply
Leon
10/24/2011 09:58:52 am

Our team did pretty good. But, it was lucky that Mrs.Scollins let us program the robots before the race of we wouldn't have made it. The hardest part was programing the robot. It always malfunctioned or we got the angle wrong or something else happened. The second hardest part was building it because we had to stop and take it apart and start over.

What we'll do different is even out the responsiblites so everyone is satisfied. What I like is the challenge made you think a lot. What I'm looking forward to for the dance is choosing the song.

Reply
Max
10/24/2011 10:01:56 am

My team in LEGO robotics did not work well and our robot had a lot of turning problems including the back wheel. The hardest part for my group was to get the back wheel strait. We had a lot of work to do on the back wheel and we did not have good teamwork because of it. I like this unit a lot because it involves building and science. The challenge part of this unit really excites me because of the sensors and the programing.
The dance challenge seems like it could be fun since the arm can add motion and the wheels help. My team did not do very well in the robot progress since we fought and not everybody worked and got along. People in our group gossiped and were distracted, other argued and fought. In my group next time I plan to learn how to program the robot better. I plan to see how to work the sensors in a way that they make the robot dance.


Reply
Austin
10/24/2011 10:05:22 am

For my Lego robotics group we did not do as well as I thought we would do. It took our team a really long time to complete the challenge. The hardest part I think about this challenge was that the back wheel was turning in different directions. What I think that was hard about this unit was not programming the robots correctly. What was challenging about programming the robot was that our group did not know how many rotations the robot needed.

Next time we work on the robot, our group will find the right amount of rotations the robot needs to go the distance and back. What I really love about this unit was that we used a ton different sensor and other parts to make the robot. What I am really looking forward to for the robot dance-off is that we can program the robot to dance to a song that I learned from the camp I went to. Also, I am looking forward to using parts other than the touch censor, light censor and the hearing censor for the dance.

Reply
Katie
10/24/2011 10:08:48 am

Our team did pretty well for the first challenge. Our time was 3:22 for the robot to go to one end of the hallway and back. The hardest part of the challenge for our group was to get our robot to turn around. We couldn’t figure out how to do it on the computer. Instead of turning around, our robot ran into the wall and that didn’t help us time wise.

We will definitely program the robot differently to turn around because we were really struggling with that -- at least I thought so. I love this unit because it’s really fun and interesting. I am looking forward to the next challenge because it’s all about expressing your group’s personality and it’s going to be a lot of fun.

Reply
Maia
10/24/2011 10:22:57 am

Our team did pretty good. We didn't have the best times for the race, and our robot failed a lot.
It took us a long time to program/complete this challenge. Our time for the race was 3 minuites and 51 seconds. There were a lot of hard parts to this challenge. Our group had a lot of programing drama, since the program we made with our Pace mentors they forgot to save. So we had to start from scratch, and every time we tried to load our program to our robot, it didn't work. The hardest part of this unit was probably having to keep on getting new brains for our robot. Our brain never worked, so we had to keep on getting new brains.One thing I will want to do differently in our group is that I want to do more. I want to be more involved with the building of the robot and the programming . What I really like about this unit is that it is a creative new way of doing science. I really enjoyed it. I can't wait for the robot dance-off. For the dance -off, I m really looking forward to adding some more sensors.

Reply
Vishwanka
10/24/2011 10:29:54 am

I think my team did pretty well. We worked as a group and we all did different parts of building/programming the robot. For building it took us about 5 work sessions and for programming it took the remaining time. I think that the hardest part of the challenge was keeping our robot moving straight. It would always move slightly to the left. The hardest part of the unit was to get the robots programmed. I think I would make sure my group does a better job with organization and deciding on who does what. For the robot dance-off, I would like my group to plan who does what and what we want to get done for that work period. I love the experience with the robots because we get to give a robot made out of LEGOs life and make it move! I cannot wait for the robot dance-off.

Reply
Lara
10/24/2011 10:32:59 am


I really enjoyed the challenge of getting our robot to move. The first time we raced the robot it took him 2 minutes and 47 seconds to get from the hallway and back. The second time it took him 2 minutes and 46 seconds. The third time it took him 2 minutes and 42 seconds. As you can see, his time improved as we learned how to program better.

The hardest part of the challenge had to be programming, because as we were making him go, we found a bunch of problems. One of the problems was one of the pieces was broken on our robot. Also, it was hard because we had to figure out how long it had to run before it turned around at the end of the hallway. Our robot did not turn around, it just moved backwards. Another hard part was getting our robot moving forward, telling it when it should go, when it should stop and when it should turn around. When our Pace mentors came and helped us, the programming made more sense and it was a lot easier

The next time we make our robot, I think we should let each other have plenty of time to take turns building him. When we worked together as a group, we got a lot more done and our robot worked better.

I really liked working with our robot and I think it taught us all how to work in a group. I had a lot of fun with our Pace mentors because we got a lot of work done and had a few great laughs. My favorite part was watching it come together and it was cool to see it start to move.

I am looking forward to seeing our Pace mentors again and it will be fun making our robot dance. Seeing the robots do their dance will be really funny. I think everyone is going to have a great time.

Reply
Ellie
10/24/2011 10:41:05 am

Our team did pretty good. During the three races we stopped and went backwards at near the bathroom/water fountain area. This gave us a 2:23 time from doing the race and with the 4 second penalty for stopping early. The hardest part of the challenge was the quest to follow the not-perfectly-strait hallways without needing to use the idea of a leash. The quest for that ended up us just nudging our robot as building onto the robot didn't work.The hardest parts of the whole lego program was when ideas were shot down and time while someone else had the robot and nobody had much to do besides the current builder.
In my new group I'd like to manage time more efficiently and really make sure everything is perfect (no asymmetrically built motor systems). What I love about this challenge is that it's strait forward and simple which gives room for adding and subtracting things. Also I love this unit because it's just a very advanced version of legos. I'm looking forward to the robot dance off because it is a challenge which has a lot of creativity and there is no one way to solve it.

Reply
chris
10/24/2011 11:32:10 am


Our team didn’t do so well. We had two failed attempts and two successes. It took us the whole time to finish because we had to make some major changes to the program because the robot went too far. The hardest part had to be figuring out what to do because the Pace kids didn’t save so we were stuck, not knowing what to do. I think one of the hard parts of the project in general is figuring out how many seconds or rotations it has to go.
First, I am going to make sure that we save after, c we’re done. Second, check over our work twice or three times. I loved being able to see something that I helped make move because I have never done anything like this before. In the next challenge I will be looking forward to watch it dance. I’m really egger to see how it will dance, will it wave its arm around, or does it get really advanced!

Reply
Leo s
10/24/2011 11:37:16 am

Our team did very well considering that we didn’t cheat like some of the other groups may have. We finished the race in two minutes and forty-two seconds. The hardest part of the challenge was trying to find a way for the robot to go straight. For me this unit was not very hard. I don’t think we need to do anything different next time.

I liked how this unit was very active and we weren’t sitting in class just writing in our books. I liked the challenge because it was a little competitive. Which then pushed our group to our thinking limits to make the robot go faster and complete the challenge. For the robot dance-off I am looking forward to programming the robot to do various dances to different songs.

Reply
Jacob
10/24/2011 11:37:30 am

Today in science my group and I had the best time. I wasn’t there during the first race but the second race we got 1:30 (+1 second bonus=1:31) but some people said that we cheated. Most people said that I pulled it or the timer wasn’t right but I just think that those haters are just jealous because we were faster.

Reply
Yesenia Martinez
10/24/2011 12:37:57 pm

Our team did OK throughout half of the unit but the rest of the unit we did was very bad due to complications. I do not really know how long it took us to finish the robot since it was messed up very badly. The hardest part of the challenge was that there were a few disturbances in the group and it was difficult to concentrate on the programming.
I think the hardest part of the unit was programming the robot because we had to figure out how many times the wheel had to turn to get to the end of the hallway. I also think that measuring the hallway was also hard since we had to push through a sea of people just to get a ruler. For the next time, I will tell my group to work harder and better together so we can get a better robot done.
I love the fact that we get to learn and have fun at the same time with Legos instead of learning with only paper and pencils. I am looking forward to choosing our song with the group for our dance off that is coming soon.

Reply
ALYSSA
10/24/2011 08:49:51 pm

My team did pretty well. Our times where 3:12, 3:07, and 2:44. I think the hardest part of the challenge was when we had to change the distance of how long the robot had to run, and we programmed something wrong. So the robot went over the line and hit Mr. Katzman’s door instead of turning around. I think the hardest part of this unit was when we had to build the robot. I think this because our group, for a week, had to try to build out of a set with missing pieces. So we were looking and looking for the missing pieces, than finally Mrs. Scollins gave us a new box, but we had to start building all over again. Next time I think I will be more careful with programming, sparing time, and building more carefully, and faster. What I liked about this challenge is how it was new to some of us, and more challenging. Even for a simple race like this. I am looking forward to the robot dance-off because I think it will be even more challenging for us to make our robot DANCE!

Reply
Taylor (revised version)
10/24/2011 09:22:04 pm

How did your team do? How long did it take you to complete the challenge?
- What was the hardest part of the challenge?
-Now that the first part of LEGO's is over and we have working computers what do you think has been the hardest about this unit?
- What will you do differently in your groups for next time?
- What do you love or like about this unit and challenge? What are you looking forward to for the next challenge the robot dance-off!


My team did pretty well, we touched the checkpoint line and the ending line all three times. Our times were: 3:13 for the first run, 3:00 for the 2nd run and 2:51 for our final run. We took of the steering device that was weighing us down. We also had an idea; if we restrained the wires using the small black bolts the wires wouldn’t jam the steering back wheel. That idea made us improve 22 seconds.
I think that the hardest part has been adjusting to the fact that the robot automatically turned slightly left while racing. We solved this when we where allowed to adjust the robot back to it's original paralell position. Honestly I don’t know what I will do differently in my group for the robot dance because we haven't encountered any challenges or problems yet. I loved the building of the robot. I am looking forward to building the robot differently to be compatible for the dance.

Reply
10/24/2011 09:41:28 pm

I think my team did a really good job in the lego challenge. The robot finished the race the first time at 3.34 minutes, second 5.57, the third 3.26 (I'm not totally sure for the third time, I forget). The hardest part of the challenge was the turn. For us the robot just hit the wall and stayed there for a while (which took up time). I think the hardest part of the lego robotics program was the programming. I'm not very good with computers, so it was really Katie and Ivan who did most of the programming. I really want to work more the computers the next time we do robotics. I want to learn more and learn how to use the computers. I really liked seeing what the robot started to look like as we were building it. It was so amazing to see our accomplishments! I'm really looking forward to figuring out what dance my group will choose for the dance-off. It will be so cool seeing the robots dance!

Reply
Taylor (edited version)
10/24/2011 09:42:57 pm

How did your team do? How long did it take you to complete the challenge?
- What was the hardest part of the challenge?
-Now that the first part of LEGO's is over and we have working computers what do you think has been the hardest about this unit?
- What will you do differently in your groups for next time?
- What do you love or like about this unit and challenge? What are you looking forward to for the next challenge the robot dance-off!


My team did pretty well, we touched the checkpoint line and the ending line all three times. Our times were: 3:13 for the first run, 3:00 for the 2nd run and 2:51 for our final run. We took off the steering device that was weighing us down. We also had an idea; if we restrained the wires using the small black bolts the wires wouldn’t jam the steering back wheel. That idea made us improve 22 seconds.
I think that the hardest part has been adjusting to the fact that the robot automatically turned slightly left while racing. We solved this when we where allowed to adjust the robot back to it's original parallel position. Honestly I don’t know what I will do differently in my group for the robot dance because we haven't encountered any challenges or problems yet. I loved the building of the robot. I am looking forward to building the robot differently to be compatible for the dance.

Reply
Sophia
10/25/2011 07:58:10 am

I think that my team, the polka dot cows, did great. For our first race we got 2 minutes and 24 seconds. The second race we got 2 minutes and 25 seconds. For the third race we did our best, we got 2 minutes and 23 seconds. The problem with our robot was it didn’t reach the midway point. We had to get a two second penalty and two four second penalties I think that the hardest part was the building. First we did okay but as we went on we got a few things wrong. When the pace students came we spent most of the time rebuilding. I think next time we should spend a little more time over the building part. I really liked when we were programming it. There were so many things to choose from!! So many choices! I really liked doing the robot challenge.

Reply
Ethan Lewis
10/25/2011 09:37:39 am

Our team did what I believe is mildly well with 312, 307 and 245.
In my personal opinion the hardest part was making sure that it went the exact distance which my team never manages to achieve. Next time I hope for me and my team to have a plan in the very beginning .
I personally did not enjoy this challenge because it was all in the book, so to speak, but the robot dance off will be hopefully more unique and challenging.

Reply
Charlotte
10/25/2011 10:40:27 am

My team did okay. But our robot stopped in the middle so we had to add ten seconds on to it. Our time was 2.14, which is still pretty good, but we plan to fix our robot before the big race so it goes the full length. The hardest part of the challenge for my team was getting the robot to go back wards. Are robot kept spinning when it went backwards and the just turned off.

I think the hardest part of the unit was getting the program going. It was hard at first but with teamwork our group figured it out. I think what I will do differently next time is follow the directions for the back wheel more carefully because that was one of my groups real struggles. The thing I liked about this challenge was building the robot. My group had a lot of fun putting together all the peaces carefully. For the next challenge I am excited for making the robot dance and picking the song.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.

    Directions on how to leave a comment:
    1. You will find a "comment" button at the top of the post, directly across from the date.
    2. Once you click on that, scroll down and you will find a comment box.
    3. Please enter your name. You don't need to leave your last name. You DO NOT need to add any email or other contact information.
    4. Enter your comment in the box. (Watch for punctuation! Reread and check it over before pressing submit.)
    5. Press Submit! A message will appear stating "your comment is awaiting approval." Check back later to view your comment posted on the page!

    Archives

    June 2012
    May 2012
    February 2012
    January 2012
    December 2011
    November 2011
    October 2011
    September 2011
    August 2011

    Categories

    All