Thank you to everyone who sent me a blog about their project choice!! It sounds like we have a nice variety and I'm SO excited to see all the amazing creations on the 11th!!
Tonight for homework I'm asking you to answer the following questions in AT LEAST one 5-8 sentence paragraph!
In your paragraph please answer:
How are you planning our your project? Did you design your own calender? Or use mine?
Where are you in the project? Researching? Designing?
What is the next step for you in your project? More research? Drafting?
What, if any, challenges have you faced so far?
What, if anything, do you love so far about your project :)

***WARNING, WARNING, WARNING***
You must type your response in Microsoft Word first. Then, copy and paste into the comment box here. REREAD your response and check for correct spelling, puncutation, and complete sentences.

Meredith :)
10/4/2011 05:31:38 am

The project that I chose to do was Hurricane News Cast. I'm planning out my project by first looking through sites and books. When I find a cool fact I add that into my movie. I used YOUR calendar because I thought that it was well planned out and the work was balanced. I'm a little more than half way through the project and I still am gathering facts. I have some cool, fun and interesting ideas that I can't what to show you! My next step will probably be to finish my script and to finish gathering facts. One thing that I love about my project is, my movie! I think my movie is balanced with facts and fun! I can’t what for October 11th!

Reply
Emily
10/4/2011 05:33:50 am

So far my progress has taken me to the point where everything is about done. I followed the rubric and have taken all the must needs and have added them to my news report. I have just finished adding my facts and have to make my project creative. The biggest challenge that I have faced so far was the air pressure. It is taking me awhile to find the research on it. I love the way the project has helped me to learn about hurricanes. I am thoroughly enjoying the project and everything it has taught me.

Reply
jessie
10/4/2011 05:49:10 am

well i was planning to work more on drating and research some more and i was hoping to finish by friday beacuse i could just relax for the weekend not worry about the project and also i am the person who is the only smart one in the town and the person who knows it all and im pretty far into it almost half way done!

Reply
Meaghan
10/4/2011 05:54:53 am

I am doing a T.V show where I am the storm chaser. I used my own calendar for this since I choose the first day and had TONS of time during the weekend.

Because of my weekend time I am very far ahead. I spent Thursday and Friday studying the whole day. I then made the script Saturday and filmed Sunday.

I am now up to Editing and am putting the final touches on. Tomorrow or the next day I think I will put this on DVD. I just need my sister and/or dad's help.

My favorite part is definitely the ending! I had lot of fun but a challenge I faced was getting Microsoft Movie Maker to recognize my work that took about three almost four days to solve!

Reply
10/4/2011 06:14:47 am

How I'm working on my project is first I went online and got a couple of pictures and one ad. Now I'm working on researching facts. I am using Ms. Scollins calender. The next step in my project is a little more researching. One challenge I have faced is not being able to find much ads. One thing I really like is finding out more about how a hurricane is made.

Reply
Maccray Rentel
10/4/2011 06:26:01 am

I have been using your calendar for my project because it fits well with my real schedule. Right now I have already researched and written down all of the facts about hurricanes. I will probably be almost done with my script today then all I have to do is record the video and draw some illustrations. The next step in my project is making the script. A challenge I faced was when I couldn’t get the Internet on my computer and type on Word at the same time, so I had to use my sister’s laptop to research and the other computer to type. I love acting like I’m one of those weather announcers on TV.

Reply
Ethan L
10/4/2011 06:29:19 am

Horrible! Our car crashed yesterday delaying my research by one day. But one the plus side by Saturday I will start filming, my plan is to combine 1, 2 and 3 into one large news cast report and to put it all on video. One major problem I am having is getting enough research done on air currents for my role as the meteorologist , I am not really sure if I will be able to make it on time.

Reply
Sierra
10/4/2011 06:43:09 am

I am doing the newspaper project. Right now I’m still working out where everything will go and what to do by following the calendar Mrs.Scollins gave me. I’m up to the stage here I’m still making final touches on the reach then I will start my drafting. The hardest part is getting all the research and organizing it all. The one thing I love about my project is the name of my newspaper. The name is Howdy Hurricanes.

Reply
Hanna
10/4/2011 06:43:58 am

I am planning to do my project on my own schedule. For the last couple nights, I have been collecting and sorting info. Tonight, I will finish that, and tomorrow I will start drafting. On Wednesday and Thursday, I will finish drafting. On Friday and Saturday, I will publish it. The only challenge I have faced so far is finding out that I don’t have quite as much information as I thought I did. Otherwise, I have been doing pretty well. What I like about this project is that it isn’t just a boring informational poster, and that it is a creative way of publishing it.

Reply
Cassidy
10/4/2011 06:47:37 am

I am using the calender you gave us. Right now I am writing about a family living through hurricane Katrina. I am also looking for a really good picture of hurricane Katrina. The next step will be researching and drafting. I havn't really faced any challenges yet.

Reply
Delia
10/4/2011 06:49:56 am

For my hurricane project I plan to draft and organize my project for the next few nights. I already got a lot of facts, but I hope to get a few more about fronts. The day before the project is due I will check it over. I mostly used your calendar with a few changes of my own. I am about to start drafting. The next step in my project is drafting and editing. It is a little hard for me to find time to do the project and figure out where to put the facts I need to put in, but otherwise it has been fun. I really like the idea I have for the project.

Reply
Alyssa@
10/4/2011 06:50:44 am

1. I am using your calendar and it is working great for me!
2. I am still researching but I will be starting to plan it out today.
3. Well, I haven’t really faced any challenges except for one tiny problem. My mom is not home until Thursday and she needs to help me a bit with the video I am making.
4. What I love about this project so far is that it is really fun. I love looking online and reading articles and watching video’s about hurricanes! But I can’t wait until the videotaping… it will be so super-duper out of this world fun! It will hope it will look good too.

Reply
Sean.S
10/4/2011 06:53:47 am

I am planning my project by gathering information. I did not design my own calender because I have decided to follow yours. Right now I am still gathering information and getting ready to start up on typing. Also I feel like this is one of the more fun projects I have done.

Reply
ava
10/4/2011 07:03:24 am

I have made the decision to make my own planner because of the things I have to do soccer practice and kumon. So the calendar basically says to work more on the weekend and take a break on Mondays. Right now in my project I am at the researching stage. I’m mostly researching the destruction hurricane Katrina caused. My next step in my project is drafting my script. The challenges I faced so far was probably when I had to choose what hurricane I should base it on. The part I love about this project is you can make your own plans and rules and be able to write your own script.

Reply
Riley
10/4/2011 07:12:28 am

Right now I just finished deciding how and what I’m going to put where on my project. By the way, if you didn’t know I’m doing the front page of a newspaper. Up next for me is gathering more information for my project. So far there isn’t a lot to love for my project. If I had to choose one thing I love about my project it would be the layout. Probably because there isn’t much else to choose from.

Reply
max
10/4/2011 07:18:36 am

I have begun to strart my reasaerch and I m now taking notes on what i need to know.

Reply
Sophia
10/4/2011 07:29:20 am

For my project I am doing a newspaper. So far I am still researching and a little bit of drafting. My next step is to finish drafting. With my planning I sort of used your calendar but I went off schedule a bit. When I finish my project I plan for it to look just like a newspaper. I am using a real newspaper for guide lines. This is an awesome project.

Reply
andrew
10/4/2011 07:29:50 am

So far I have started to plan out what I am going to say in my in my announcement
to the people. I might make it like a news thing where you tell the people to evacuate.
I decided I wanted to do police chief.

Reply
Ashley
10/4/2011 07:49:35 am

Each night I read my hurricane books and find websites then I put them into my own words and type them up. I followed only a few days from your calendar and then I made my own calendar. Right now I am in the process of gathering information and typing it up. My next step is for me to have everything typed up and start putting it on my poster board. I faced the challenges of trying to find good information. I like being creative and putting cool things about hurricanes on my poster.

Reply
Hannah
10/4/2011 08:36:30 am

For my project I have been following Mrs. Scollins’s rubric. It’s been helping me because it helps me make sure I’m on track, I’m completing my work on time. The rubric also helps because it makes sure that you’re going to be able to complete you’re project on time and that is a big thing. At this point I’m trying to take some research and put it in to more of a newspaper format. I’m also still doing research. My project is also moving at a good paste and completing the work. My next step would be laying it out and figuring out were things are going to go. One challenge I’ve had was do I start and where is the best place for research, but I figured that out. Other wise I’m doing great. I love how fun it is, the headlines I’ve come up with, ads, research and I learned a lot about hurricanes that I hadn’t known before that. The project that I’m doing is moving very swiftly.

Reply
Ellie
10/4/2011 09:25:44 am

For my hurricane project I'm doing the newspaper cover. I'm not planning my project out because my mom has to help me with InDesign and I don't know her plans. Where I'm at in the project is I'm researching and typing articles. The next step in my project is to organize everything into a document to look like a newspaper. Then I have to print it onto newspaper sized paper. I'm enjoying this project as it is looking back into history and hurricanes at the same time. I have one question though, what do I call my hurricane if it happened in 1938, before the naming system?

Reply
Darren
10/4/2011 09:36:05 am

My project is going pretty well. I have everything planned out and organized. This helps me make progress in my project. I am using this program called imovie for the ipod touch. The app is easy to operate/use. First you film, and then you can put in music or voice over. I look forward to presenting it.

Reply
Vishwanka
10/4/2011 09:41:14 am

I am planning out my project by doing a little every day. I am using the calendar that Mrs.Scollins gave to me. I am at the stage where I need to do a little more research and then I can start designing. My next step is to start drafting and to plan out how I am going to say everything. I have not faced any challenges so far.

Reply
Claire
10/4/2011 09:58:20 am

I'm doing pretty well on my project. I play a hurricane expert in my news report. The hurricane I discuss about is Hurricane Amelia. I'm sort of using the calendar Mrs. Scollins gave us. I am Finishing up researching and starting to write my script. I have had trouble with the researching part, but I love the creative part! I really enjoy this project.

Reply
Dante
10/4/2011 10:21:57 am

I’m more of a do person I don’t exactly plan it out I just do. I am finishing writing the script trying to put as many hurricane facts into it. My next step in my project is to record the actual newscast. So far it has been going very smoothly. Except for the more I’m in class the more I notice the facts I’m missing. I’m loving how fun it turned out to be, I’m getting a green screen so I’m thinking of adding a scene where I’m in the hurricane, or so it seems.

Reply
Maia
10/4/2011 10:35:10 am

I am doing the newscast. I am planning my project based on the calender Mrs Scollins gave us. The calander really tells you how to manage your time, which is why I like it. So far, I just started planning how my project will look. I'm starting to form stuff I'll be putting in my script. The next step is for me to write my draft. The only challenge I have had is that the article I had on the hurricane in Galveston in the year 1900 had a lot of stuff I did'nt understand in it and picking out the important parts was hard. But the thing I really love about my project is because it has a lot of history in it and I love history.

Reply
Leo S
10/4/2011 10:43:53 am

Hi Mrs Scollins! Here's my hurricane update as of Tuesday, October 4th.

My Mom and I planned out my project around the Jewish Holidays. I did not design my own calendar. I have researched the first three questions. Tomorrow I will research the fourth question and start my script. I have not faced any challenges yet but I might when start my script. I do not love anything yet but I think I will love filming the newscast.

Reply
Lara
10/4/2011 10:45:21 am

I am doing well on my project. I am using Mrs. Scollins calendar to pace myself. I am done researching so I am onto designing the cover of a news paper. I still have to work on making the stories on the news paper and designing it. I have not yet had any problems (nock on wood), and I am having a lot of fun with this project.

Reply
chris
10/4/2011 10:50:12 am

I'm going to be the mayor of Croton during hurricane Irene but I'm going to call it hurricane Juliet (that's my sisters name). I'm also going to use your calendar. I'm starting to plan out my project and then I'm going to get my materials and start drafting my script. I do love the project already.

Reply
Alexa
10/4/2011 10:57:59 am

I have been using your calendar for my project because it just makes it easier for me than making my own! I also like how you did your calendar. I am still researching a lot of facts and reading books that I got from the library to help me find a lot of information about hurricanes. I am also starting to write my articles. My next step would probably be designing and a more researching. I really want to start designing though. The only challenges so far are finding the right facts for my article! To put in really necessary facts are hard to do. Also organizing the project is a little bit hard. I really love learning new facts about hurricanes and doing my first article project it's pretty fun! I really do love learning so much new facts though! :)

Reply
Charlotte
10/4/2011 11:47:26 am

My project is going pretty well so far. I kind of designed my own calendar for the project and I am making pretty good progress. So far I am writing the paragraphs for my newspaper and collecting the pictures. The only challenges I have faced so far was finding a hurricane to do my project on, so I looked at the lists of hurricane names and chose one off the list. Other than that my project is going well.

Reply
leon
10/4/2011 11:49:04 am

I am writing the script and alnost ready to tape.

Reply
yesenia
10/4/2011 11:50:22 am

I am planning out my project by first doing the reaserch and typing, then doing the creativity and resorses last.I used Mrs. Scollin's calender since I did not want to do my own. I am starting to get to the desining part of my project.I am almost finish with the reaserching part. My next step is probably going to be desining the posterbored my project is going to be on. The challenges I have faced so far was searching for information on fronts and air preesher. I love the fact that I am almost done with my project so that I can compleat it.

Reply
Taylor
10/4/2011 09:25:53 pm

I am doing well in the hurricane project. I have finished my note taking and I am starting my writing.

Reply
Ivan
10/5/2011 05:08:11 am

I am getting some progress. But sometimes I have no time and I guess I am falling behind on the project plans. But I hope I will make it. It possibly can be a day late.

Reply
Vincent
10/5/2011 06:20:49 am

I choose to create a Severe Weather Press Release (#2). I planned my project by using a real press release that was issued by the mayor of Newark during Hurricane Irene. So far I have completed my research. I will create a resource page to list the site I have used. I have followed Mrs. Scollin’s calendar and I have completed all of the research. Currently I am designing my press release. I am writing it as if I am the mayor of Croton on Hudson and I am notifying residents of a state of emergency for hurricane Danny. My brother’s name is Danny and I choose to name my hurricane after him. This hurricane is listed a category 3 so I am expecting a lot of damage. I am urging people in Croton to evacuate their homes due to the expected flooding from the Croton and Hudson Rivers. As mayor I have a team of emergency people that will be helping me. We are planning on securing the Croton Dam to make sure that it does not burst. Tomorrow I will buy a poster board and construction paper so that I can layout my design. I will be including my press release, a map of Croton as well as a visual on how hurricanes are formed. I am excited about this project and I hope everyone enjoys it.

Reply
alex
10/5/2011 08:33:37 am

I'm doing pretty well I'm still gather info and started to planning things out.i like that i can almost print,cut,and glue stuff on to the poster board and be done.i could be done by 10/7-10/9 maybe.

Reply
meagan
10/5/2011 09:01:22 am

I’m using the calendar you made for my planning. Right now I’m in the beginning of the designing stage. My next step in the project is more designing and then drafting. I don’t think I have really faced any challenges so far. I really like learning about the hurricanes

Reply
matt m
10/5/2011 09:28:06 am

I have learned how a hurricane is made/ formed. I am doing the third option so I have the name it will be hurricane Jeff and have speeds of up to 125mph.

Reply
jacob
10/5/2011 10:26:00 am

I finished all my note taking and now i'm going to start writing my press realese. i did each part at a time. I started with the first one then the second such on and so on. you can anser this in class tomarrow but, about how long does a press realese need to be?

Reply
Mrs. Scollins :)
10/6/2011 09:35:22 am

Jacob!
I didn't give a page amount! It just needs to have ALL of the information on the project guidelines and it needs to be creative :) Stop in tomorrow morning and we can chat about it :)

Reply
jacob
10/9/2011 12:26:22 pm

we never got to look over my project on thursday so this is just me sending all the work I have done at this moment.

Warning: all residents living on the east coast of florida, south carolina, north carolina and maryland are ordered to an immediate evacuatation of the area. In fourty eight hours hurricane pablo will hit the east coast of of florida, south carolina, north carolina and maryland. the states recomend evacuating to the west to the more inlands.

it is a catagory 5 hurricane. the wind speeds will be over 155 mph and the storm surge will be over 18 feet long. the storm surge is the storms tide minus the normal high tide.

please send your thoughts and comments as soon as possible. thanks. :)

Reply
Mrs. S
10/9/2011 11:00:56 pm

Jacob! I responded to you in an e-mail! Please let me know if you got it :)

Reply
leonardo rinaldi
10/10/2011 03:17:09 am

Here's my video project on hurricanes.
http://animoto.com/play/200h9xSd2NLXQffXggNLTQ

Reply
Marcus
10/11/2011 12:17:04 am

I am using your callender for my prodject. I have done alot of reasearch but my story is not finished yet. I did most of my research and then copied and pasted ir into word. All of my research was on time.

Reply
Matt Harris
10/11/2011 12:57:02 am

Right now I am working on still posting stuff on my board. After that im going to color it in the colors of hurricanes.

Reply
Matt Harris
10/11/2011 01:09:40 am

For my progress i have been making a backround for my project. I was only doing it so it wouldnt be so plain. I wanted to add some creative art so it would look better. Also I am pasteing diffrent information for my borad. So, so far my progress has been great!

Reply
Erin
10/13/2011 06:45:52 am

Hi Mrs. S sorry that it is late. Here is my homework:


So far my robot limps to one side. I think that one of the wheels is in front of the other and that is why it is limping. I think that it will be fixable. So far, the programming is good and we are seeing how it moves. We also found out how to download all of the sensors. One of the people in my group was sick so we have to catch her up. I hope that maybe we can get are robot to go fast on the race.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.

    Directions on how to leave a comment:
    1. You will find a "comment" button at the top of the post, directly across from the date.
    2. Once you click on that, scroll down and you will find a comment box.
    3. Please enter your name. You don't need to leave your last name. You DO NOT need to add any email or other contact information.
    4. Enter your comment in the box. (Watch for punctuation! Reread and check it over before pressing submit.)
    5. Press Submit! A message will appear stating "your comment is awaiting approval." Check back later to view your comment posted on the page!

    Archives

    June 2012
    May 2012
    February 2012
    January 2012
    December 2011
    November 2011
    October 2011
    September 2011
    August 2011

    Categories

    All