WOW! What amazing progress you made with your LEGO’s today! I am so proud of each one of you!
Tonight for homework you will be writing at least TWO PARAGRAPHS about your experience with the LEGO’s so far!

In your response please include:
The challenges your group has faced.
The things you like or love about using LEGO’s. Something you are proud of works too!
What you have learned about science using LEGO’s?
What you have learned about yourself during our robotics time?
Tomorrow we our PACE University mentors are coming. What is something you and your group will want to work on with your mentors?

***WARNING, WARNING, WARNING***
You must type your response in Microsoft Word first. Then, copy and paste into the comment box here. REREAD your response and check for correct spelling, puncutation, and complete sentences.

Picture
Meaghan
10/12/2011 05:51:18 am

One challenge my group faced was the group name and logo. We tried our best to get everyone's options out in the open but we just couldn't agree! The conflict with the name was we could not agree on any of the options in the beginning and at least one person in our group always had a problem with at least one name. The logo was the same.
One thing I love about using LEGOS though, is taking a childhood toy and applying it to school work. I also enjoy putting all the pieces together and programming. It's fascinating how we can take a childhood toy and actually learn science. Like before we started this project I did not know that if you want to program a robot, you had to take scientific measurements like of the hallway, and how far a wheel goes in one motion.
One thing I would like to work with my mentors on is calculating how many durations we need to actually get the robot down the hallway and back.

Reply
Charlotte
10/12/2011 05:53:45 am

My groups Lego progress is pretty good so far. At first we faced some challenges starting to build the robot and programming it, but then we figured it out and our robot turned out fine. Using Lego Robotics is fun and difficult at the same time. It is fun when you are working well with your group and having a good time, but it is difficult when things go wrong.


I have learned that it is sometimes hard to work well with a team using Lego’s. It is hard because everybody wants to do everything so it is hard to attach the peaces. But everything always ends up fine. When our mentors from PACE come tomorrow I think my group will want help programming. It is had to programming, so I think that’s something they can help us a lot with.

Reply
Jessica
10/12/2011 06:07:22 am

during Lego robotics we had a lot of challenges one we were missing a lot of pieces and we got frustrated then we were fighting about who does what. I loved building the whole thing and doing team working stuff. I am proud that we worked together on it and pulled through. I learned about legos in science is that, you really can't miss a step or the whole experiment will not work or as in our case the robot. I learned about myself is, that I can work well and say "well guys you can work on this and you can work on this." I want to work with our mentors on, programing, and doing some more sensors. I think that if we could work together on stuff like this the world would get along better.

Reply
Meagan
10/12/2011 06:10:21 am

My group has faced a few challenges, one of them being everyone not having the same amount of work. We solved that by taking turns on the steps, which solved the problem. The other issue was that the programming program wasn’t working but that was an issue for the whole class. I really like working with the LEGO’S because, it’s really fun to try and put together all the pieces and to make sure everything is all right and is working correctly. One thing that I have learned about science is with the mechanics, that if one thing is remotely wrong everything else is then wrong to.
One thing I learned about myself is that in my group I like to be the leader in a way. I think one thing we will want to discuss is the programming because that is the thing we’re having a hard time with.

Reply
10/12/2011 06:23:35 am

So far the challenges that my group have been having is probably figuring out what cool things to put on the robot. Things I love about using Legos is programming the robot. I have learned that you can make a robot follow a line that you drew. Also it will move depending on what you say to it. Something I have learned about myself is not only am I bad at using computers, but I'm also bad making robots. I don't know about my group, but I would like to work on programming the robot to do some other things that are cool with the mentors.

Reply
Austin
10/12/2011 06:36:11 am

My robot group (Robot Reject) is making very good progress. So far, our group is on programing the robot. The robot can go the full length of the hallway and possibly back. We also took off some sensors to make the robot go faster. Also we had some difficulty with the steering of the robot. I am looking forward tomorrow when Pace University comes to our class to help us with the robots.

Reply
Leo S
10/12/2011 06:37:18 am

Our group has faced a big challenge. We put the wrong sized piece in the wrong spot more than once. So we had to basically take apart our whole robot and put everything back together more than once because of one piece. I learned that details are very important in science. I like using LEGO's because you have to think and pay attention and you also get to do something fun by building a robot.

When our mentors come tomorrow we will probably work on understanding the program instead of just doing it. We will probably get a rough draft of the program we are going to use in the challenge. We might be able to get the whole program completed.

Reply
Ivan
10/12/2011 06:56:30 am

My group and I had alot of fun building the Lego robots. Some of the challeges my group had: making up the group name which became the "Swag city Shoties", decieding what the logo would look like and designing the robot itself.
The thing I liked about the lego robots was to get to use legoes. Because I like to play with legoes alot. Also what I liked was for the people that never did this before, they got to experience building with legos. What I learned about science using the legoes was, that you need to be able to problem solve, because in science you need to be able to do that in a situation, like if something goes wrong. For example: if a wire gets stuck in the wheel, the robot starts to do the wrong thing or even if a very important peice falls you should be able to put it back in the right place.
What I learned about myself that sometimes I can disagree with the rest of the group aboat something. For example, my group did not think that we would need most of the sensors, I thought that we might need different kinds of sensors: the light sensor to follow the black line, the touch sensor if the robot hits a wall it can back up, the sight sensor to see if there is anything on its path.
Since our mentors are coming tomorrow my group and I would like to work finishing coloring our logo, because in class we never finished. I think that is all we need to work on with our mentors (for now).

Reply
Delia
10/12/2011 07:04:14 am

It is fun doing LEGO Robotics, but it is also hard. Today my group had a challenge, one of the wires wasn’t working. We kept trying to program our robot, but we couldn’t. Then Ms. Scollins came over and helped my group replace one of the wires. After that we were back on track. I love using LEGO’s because they are fun and creative. Using LEGO’s I have learned that you need to be very creative in science. I have learned a lot about myself, too. I learned that I can be very stubborn if I want something done, but other times I’ll just go with the flow. When the mentors from PACE come I want to work on programming because I do not know what to do.

Reply
Hanna
10/12/2011 07:11:20 am

In my LEGO robotics group, the challenge that we faced was our robot falling apart. Also our robot does not turn. That was because we didn’t use the directions to build it. What I like about using LEGOS is putting the two pieces of LEGOS together. For some reason, it is very satisfying. I am proud that our robot is unique.
I have learned that using directions in science or anything is very important. Also, I learned how to connect the wires to the correct outlet. I have learned that I like doing hands on projects. I have also learned that I have to cooperate with people who aren’t necessarily my friends. I want to work with the people from PACE University with programming. That is one of the harder things for me.

Reply
Vincent
10/12/2011 07:17:42 am

I love LEGOs, we have been working on our robots for a few weeks and I really enjoy this project. I think the best thing about LEGOs is that you can build anything with your imagination. You can be creative and that is fun. I am proud that our robot is unique because we used all of the sensors. Plus, our robot is longer than the others. One of the challenges we faced is getting our robot to turn. Programming the robot is a little difficult.

I am learning a lot about computers and I am learning to be very scientific in measuring the pieces needed to create our robot. Science is helping us learn to design a robot that really will work. I am also learning how to work with others in a team and how to make decisions together. Tomorrow we will work with our mentors to learn more about how to program our robots so they move and turn. This is a great project and I really love LEGOs.

Reply
andrew
10/12/2011 07:45:13 am

The challenges my group has faced was teamwork sometimes me and matt would try to help but then they would not let us. Then over the few weeks we started to all work together as a team. What I love about lego’s is that you can build different stuff but then the lego mind storm came and know I love the lego robots. What I have learned about my self at robotics time is that they really need me and matts help because we always play with legos and they don’t really play with them at all.

With my mentors I would want to work on the programming. The reason I want to do programming is that I think there going to be a big help on the computer. If we get into trouble with the robots then they can help us.

Reply
matt m
10/12/2011 08:25:31 am

Reply
Hannah
10/12/2011 08:32:26 am


Some challenges the my group has faced are, not working as a team; meaning that one person wants to do all the work and wont let anyone else do it. When we had to connect the 2 motors it took us 2 classes to finally be like “Ok we need to connect the motors here.” The last problem is that when we were trying to program the LEGO programming system wouldn’t scroll down so we had to fix that but then it worked. A few things I’m proud of is that my group made a lot of progress and we finished our robot. We worked as a team and made sure that when we were done we had the pieces; legos, directions and the sheet that says were things go in the bin. When it came time to program, we had a problem with the software so when we fixed it we got right back on track and programmed a good robot.
I learned that scientist have a lot of patients especially when things aren’t going as well as they should be going. For example when my group couldn’t figure out how to put the two motors together, it took us 3-4 classes to finally be like ok I got it now. If something breaks or you loose something, you don’t get it back or replace t because that is reality. I learned that I have to start to help my group just a little more because one day I was just having fun and laughing so from then on I really have not done that so we could do more because we had more hands to help build. I think my group would like pace to help us make our robot really cool and programming our robot to go really fast and not crash into the other kids robots but still do really good.

Reply
Maia
10/12/2011 08:35:41 am

I have had a lot of fun with LEGO robotics. One challenge that my group has faced is not beig able to add the touch sensor at first,because we didn't have the cable. One thing I am proud of is being able t say I helped build a robot. It's sort of new to me, so I'm proud that I understand it. One thing that I have learned about science from LEGO robotics is, you can't give up. If an experiment dosen't work at first, you can't give up, just like LEGO robotics.
What I have learned about myself durng LEGO robotics, is that I am not very good at putting stuff together. I'm good at undestanding what to do, but when it comes to actually putting it togther, I'm not so good. When the mentors come, I'll probably want to more know tips and tricks on how to build a sucsessfu; robot from them. It will be really cool to meet people who are really good at robot building.

Reply
Maccray Rentel
10/12/2011 08:39:29 am

So far our group only faced one problem, and that is / was that we could not decide which kind of sensors to put on the robot. Sometimes this would lead us to a fight, or an argument. But that seemed to be our group’s only problem so far. One thing I love about this robot is that if you put a sound sensor on it and start screaming at it, it moves forward. I also like the fact that it is so easy to program, you just plug the cord in tell it what to do, and then it’s all done.
I learned that if you’re simply just missing one piece or one step, then the equation won’t add up. It also works this way on the flip side, if add one too many parts or steps the equation isn’t equal. For instance our group decided to add a wheel on the back of the robot, then when we tested it, it wouldn’t move backwards! One thing that I learned about myself is that I really like Lego Robotics. Before this station I never really even paid much attention to it but now I think I might consider the after school program next year. When the PACE mentors come I think that we should work on getting our robot to turn a corner because as of now our robot can only back up very slowly.

Reply
Cassidy
10/12/2011 08:41:47 am

A challenge that our group has faced would be teamwork. This is a challenge because two people at my table are building the robot, and won't let me and the other person help. I like how, with LEGO's, you can build whatever you want. What I learned about myself while building the robot, is that I am good at finding tiny pieces of things. I would want to work on programming the robot, with the PACE University mentors.

Reply
Sierra
10/12/2011 09:02:48 am

WOW! What amazing progress you made with your LEGO’s today! I am so proud of each one of you!
Tonight for homework you will be writing at least TWO PARAGRAPHS about your experience with the LEGO’s so far!

In your response please include:
The challenges your group has faced.
The things you like or love about using LEGO’s. Something you are proud of works too!
What you have learned about science using LEGO’s?
What you have learned about yourself during our robotics time?
Tomorrow we our PACE University mentors are coming. What is something you and your group will want to work on with your mentors?

Reply
Austin
10/12/2011 09:03:53 am

So far our group for the Lego Robotics is doing great. In my group we have had a challenge with our robot. The problem with our robots was that it kept turning to the right on its practice run down the hallway. What I really thought was cool about Lego Robotics was that the kit contains a bunch of sensors to help the robot move. By using Lego’s I have found science can be predictable during the use of making the robot. What I learned about myself during the robotics time was that on the creation of our robot I was sometimes stumped by some of the steps to making the robot move. I am looking forward tomorrow for Pace University to help our group out with steering the robot.

Reply
alex
10/12/2011 09:16:09 am

My group has faced not many challenges but some, like coming up with a logo. It was a challenge because are team name is the Thunder Monkeys.It was hard to choose one logo idea. The things I liked about using the Lego's is that i can build and create something that i kind of like to do. I also like participating because I just like to.

I learned that the “brain” of the robot works like a computer for example; you can program it like a computer or you can add or remove things too. I learned that I can work together with people that I never thought I could work with before. I also learned that I can build Lego’s with out messing up. I would like to finish programming our robot. I think it would be great to meet our mentors because the can help us with hard things that we don’t know how to do.

Reply
Claire
10/12/2011 09:17:30 am


I'm in the group Mindstorm Masters (MSM) with Dante, Gilly, and Taylor. We were off to great start until the last 2 or 3 Lego times ago. ****** & ****** were fighting on which sensors we should keep. We had a little trouble with programming. We couldn't figure which order to choose. A majority of MSM loved the building of the robot. Before starting this project, I wasn't a huge fan of Lego robotics. But now, I love it! When the mentors come in tomorrow, I hope they can help the fighting and get us to the top.

Reply
Ethan
10/12/2011 09:27:46 am

Our group was plagued by many challenges, such as we were one of the unlucky groups to get an already used Lego box from one of the previous years’ Lego groups. We had to spend over two sessions trying to find the pieces before our teacher decided to give us a new box, which we then had to organize. However, after that we were extremely lucky and we finished design work quickly.
I love to build and design my own robots . I am proud of the fact that I built Lego robots in fifth grade, before anybody else in our class, and the fact that at the age of five, I was already building Lego buildings.
Last year in Lego robotics, to figure out how many times does a wheel need to turn to go forty feet, I used mathematical equations.
I learned that on some occasions, people see me as a leader and I discovered that I truly enjoy leading (on some occasions).
I hope to learn more about programming so I can reach the robot’s limits.

Reply
Vishwanka
10/12/2011 09:32:20 am

Some of the challenges that my group has faced are that we never agreed on who would build a part of the robot. We also had a difficult time finding the right wire until we figured out that you cannot have all the sensors hooked up with a wire. One thing a love about the LEGO robotics is that you get to program your robot. I have never programmed anything before so, this is an interesting experience. I have learned that you MUST do every step very carefully. If you mess up once, your entire project can go wrong. I learned about myself that I can get a lot of work done with a focused group that talks a little bit. I used to not be able to do that. My group’s robot always moves a little towards the left when it is in motion. I want to ask our PACE University mentors why that is happening and if they could help us fix it. I also want to ask them about the sound sensor. I want to know how that can help the robot in the race. I can’t wait for the race and the next challenge!

Reply
Ellie
10/12/2011 09:52:47 am

Our lego robotics group, The Polka Dot Cows, has faced many challenges. Wev'e had our robot be crooked and not being able to put on a piece, and today our robot was "limping". I love using legos because they make building more simple than physically building a robot out of metal and plastic (un-molded). In lego robotics we have been learning about how weight on either side of robots can slow them down and other weights in certain places, translating into aero-dynamics. Also about structures, hence we're building robots.
I have learned about myself because lego robotics has told me about capabilities in teamwork and leader ship. I'm exited for students of PACE University. I'm exited because they can help us figure out the things our robot can do, and using the sensors. Also, I would like to work with them on giving our robot more speed

Reply
Marcus
10/12/2011 09:56:16 am

We have already worked on our programming and tomorrow I believe that we will finish our programing. I love how the robots are so interactive, you can make them do anything! I also think that THE SENSORS ARE UNNECESSARY! They only help IF you know how to use them. I rest my case.

Reply
matt mashenko
10/12/2011 09:57:27 am

In class we have been working on LEGO robotics, here are some of the things that I learned. One thing that my team is struggling with is team work. We have had us all trying to help and end up breaking the robot. This is defiantly something that I would like to talk to with the mentors. I love LEGOs because of how focused you have to be because if you get one small piece wrong the hole thing is wrong. I have learned that I am very good at LEGOs. They are very fun. Science and LEGO robotics are all most the same because there is a lot of measuring and looking back and getting two and two together.

Reply
max
10/12/2011 10:18:25 am

My Lego Robotics experience so far was pretty good as we made the robot. I learned that the movement and energy of one object can shift through other objects into the end while working on the arm. I learned that also in a team I can be pushy and demanding. What I like about Legos is building them and seeing it all come together. To see the end product physically and not through a picture is what I also like. What I want to work on with my mentors is the sensors so we can have control.
The big thing about sensors is the advantage. Someone who had a robot with no sensors was saying sensors are bad and will weigh the robot down. Some challenges my group faced was teamwork. We did not see eye to eye with each other all the time. Sometimes I got demanding or someone else was distracting or people were fighting, not the best thing. We eventually worked it out and we all saw eye to eye.

Reply
Sean S.
10/12/2011 10:18:42 am

One of the many challenges my group has faced, has been teamwork. I'm getting very frustrated with this because I was really looking forward to this project. However, my group has made it extremely difficult to enjoy.

I've grown up with LEGO's and enjoy using them. Otherwise, I haven't been able to learn much because of my group

Tomorrow when our mentors come I hope they will give me some help with our project and maybe we can get back on track.

Any help with my situation would be greatly appreciated.

Reply
Lara
10/12/2011 10:24:40 am

My group faced the same problem over and over. When we tried to put the Lego’s together, they would not fit together. We solved our problem by taking it apart, examining all of the pieces and putting the right pieces together.

I like working with the Lego’s and making the robot. I really love the robot’s head and I enjoyed working on this part of the project. I think that the robot head is really cute. I really like playing with the brain and making the robot move without programming it.

I feel that I learned a lot about the robot. One of the things I feel more confident about was programming the robot. I feel that I have a better understanding about programming stuff.

I learned one thing about myself. I learned that I work well in a group, where we help each other, especially when we have problems.

I think one thing my group would like to work on with our mentor is getting a better understanding about programming our robot. We would like to get to know how the sensors work a little bit better. I think that my group is doing amazing and we will have a great robot.

Reply
MEREDITH
10/12/2011 10:26:57 am

In LEGO robotics my group had some challenges. One challenge was that I wasn’t here the first day of robotics. Therefore, my group had to come up with a name with out me and I missed out on the first day of building the robot. The second problem was during the programing part. First, we had a problem with not getting the robot to go far enough down the hall and the last time the robot went to far down the hall and crashed into the wall. So were working on that.

One thing that I’m proud of is my group and how well we work together. Sometimes we fool around but we always get the work done. We also always give each other chances to do the work and we NEVER make fun of each other. I have learned one thing with science from LEGO robotics. It's you have to be exact when you put the robot together and you must work well with your group. In science you have to exact during an experiment or project just like in LEGO robotics you have to be exact because you don’t want to mess up your robot because you’ll have to restart your robot. I have learned this about myself through robotics. Never give up even if it’s difficult to finish the robot and that it's OK to not understand something just ask for help. I never gave up on my group and because of that our group has come a very far. With my mentors I think our group will need help on two things. One is our group needs to figure out how to turn our robot around and have it head back down the way it came. Two. I’ll ask if we need to add more pieces to our robot.

Reply
Riley
10/12/2011 10:40:35 am

My group faced some challenges while building our robot. We put some parts together wrong witch effected us in the end. At first we thought it was nothing when something didn’t look right. Now we know it has to look just like the picture in the instruction book or you’re going to have some problems in the end. I love everything about Lego’s! It’s fun, challenging, and over all AMAZING! I am proud of our robot.
Lego robotics has taught me so much! It’s taught so much from team works to programming! Scientifically it has taught me about well programming! What have I learned about myself during Lego robotics? I’ve learned that I’m not very good at making Lego’s and Lego’s are more than just a toy. Something I want to work on with the pace mentors is programming. I want to work on that because I’m still a bit fuzzy on it.

Reply
Ashley:)
10/12/2011 10:48:40 am

The challenge my group has faced was when we dropped our robot and a lot of the pieces came off. We then had to go back to the beginning of the instructions and look it over again. I like finding all the pieces that we need to build one part of the robot. I also like when we put the brain on and we attached all the wires to the brain and the robot.
The thing I am proud of is that when we dropped our robot we picked it up and tried the best we could to make it wonderful. The thing I learned about science using LEGO's is that when scientists or regular people are trying to build something with a lot of steps and pieces it can be very difficult and stressful. What I learned about myself is that I’m not very good at putting and attaching a lot of pieces together. I am also not very good at finding the right pieces for the correct steps. I’m good at reading the directions and knowing where to put the pieces but like I said I can’t attach them on right.
Something me and my group would probably want to work on is to make sure that we have the correct pieces on in the correct spot, make sure nothing is crooked, check that we have everything we need on the robot, make sure it moves smoothly and to check that we programmed it correctly.

Reply
JACOB
10/12/2011 10:59:34 am

Today in science my group didn’t program the robot but we did attach the turning wheel and touch sensor. A lot of people made negative comments about our robot because it “didn’t look right.” When we saw what our robot should have look like compared to what ours looked like my group and I faced a HUGE problem. I’m really proud of the progress that we made from day one.
At first I seriously thought it was IMPOSIBLE to make a walking talking robot with swag and I thought programming it would be harder then rocket science. Now I just feel like an idiot because I thought Lego mechanics, moving parts and sensors would make me pull out all my hair and go snowboarding on a train track but now I really see how easy it actually is.
I’ve played with little Lego’s and ones actually once had a lego birthday, but to be honest I think the most complicated Lego I had was the wheel and axle.
I’m looking forward to meeting to the pace students and the Robot Dugies are going to win it all.
Truly yours,
Pablo

Reply
Alexa
10/12/2011 11:13:20 am

I think the challenges my group has faced was trying to make the robot stand up, and turn. It was kind of hard to make it stand up because for that part of the project we didn’t want to follow the directions, we wanted to be creative. I like using LEGO’s because they are fun to work with, and I like how u make the motors work and make different equipment with them! It’s really fun! I’ve learned that building something really needs teamwork! It’s hard to build a robot and make sure everything is correct, so you really need a team to help you do that. I’ve also learned that making a robot takes a really long time, so always work your best to make your robot as best it can be!
I think my group and I would want to tell our PACE University mentors what we worked on, and what we struggled with. So they could maybe give us advice so we don’t make those mistakes again. What I’ve learned about science using LEGO’s is that when we use them you learn something new every day! What I learned about science using LEGO’s is all scientists have to be able to build things and figure out how to build them. In science, building a robot is very important because it sometimes can save people’s lives and can be used for entertainment. Also learning how to build something that can listen to you and speak to you is important.



Reply
leon
10/12/2011 11:14:59 am

The challenges my group has were disagreeing on a lot of stuff and we did make mistakes so we had to take a part the whole thing and start over (well, not the whole thing, but you know what I mean). What I like about Legos is that there are a lot of possibilities. There’s no real way, you just build. I leaned that robots aren’t all wires and metal. I learned that robots are really hard to build. What I discovered is that making a robot is also pretty fun. I loved putting it together. What I want to work on with PACE is how to program it really good and precisely so it can work efficiently.

Reply
jacob
10/12/2011 11:20:12 am

sorry about the first one. this is the real deal!

Today in science my group didn’t program the robot but we did attach the turning wheel and touch sensor. A lot of people made negative comments about our robot because it “didn’t look right.” When we saw what our robot should have looked like compared to what ours looked like, that was when my group and I faced a HUGE problem. I’m really proud of the progress that we made from day one.
At first I seriously thought it was IMPOSSIBLE to make a walking, talking, robot with swag, and I thought programming it would be harder than rocket science. Now I just feel silly because I thought Lego mechanics, moving parts and sensors would make me pull out my hair in frustration. Now I really see how easy it actually is.
I’ve played with little Lego’s and once actually had a Lego birthday, but to be honest I think the most complicated Lego I had was the wheel and axle.
I’m looking forward to meeting the Pace students and I’m confident that the Robot Dugies are going to win it all (because they have more swag than anyone else.)

Reply
chris
10/12/2011 12:15:02 pm


My group and I faced our problems at the beginning, we got o to a slow start and it was devastating for some. But after the first few steps we started to get better at it. The thing I love about this project is that we get to build robots using legos, I love legos, and I have bins and bins of them. I am proud that got past all the confusion and completed the robot because, we didn’t have all the right pieces and we really couldn’t progress. But, we all said that we all had to focus and work together if we were going to finish it.
I learned that that you can create life (sort of) out of plastic toys, of course we also used the brain and the sensors ECT, but we mainly used the legos. I learned that I can work with most people and that I work better in groups. I think they need to help us with the wires. My group has had confusion on which wire goes where and the wire stuff.

Reply
Taylor
10/13/2011 12:57:07 am

Some of the challenges my group has faced was that I wanted to add some creativity to the robot but my group members always wanted to stick to the books. I like the Legos because of the programming. You can program the robot at least 50 ways. I also like the fact that you don’t even need sensors, you can just program manually with distance.
With Legos I learned about science that every small piece matters like if you don’t include something in your robot it might fall apart while moving. During Legos I learned about myself that my way is not always the best way. When the PACE mentors come I would like to leqarn what all the sensors do and how they can be triggered.
These are the challenges my group has faced, the things I like or love about using LEGO’s, what I have learned about myself during my robotics time, what have I learned about science using LEGO’s, and what I want to ask the Pace mentors.

Reply
Nick s
10/13/2011 01:06:28 am

Some of the challenges my team faced were coming up with the correct way to program the exact measurement of the hall way and how to download that in the robot. I like working with Lego because you can create and build what in your mind.

I’ve learned how to program and build with Lego Mind storms. Are group right now needs help programing since that’s our weakest link right now.

Reply
Matt Harris
10/13/2011 01:12:36 am

It has been really fun but sadly are group is still not finish. So hopefully we should be finish by tomorrow. But other than that I had a lot of fun with people in my group and I thought we learned a lot! So when we finish building or when Pace comes maybe they would be able to help us cause we are having trouble 
Also I am happy that we had this experience cause it should that there is no I in team. Cause even if one of us tried to do it there self they wouldn’t get far. So it was fun and hopefully we will soon finish our robot

Reply
Dante
10/13/2011 01:37:24 am

Our group has not faced many problems but I do have a little trouble working with a certain person in my group because we don’t agree often so that can lead to problems. I love everything about the Legos I find them a ton of fun I’m proud that we made every sensor quickly and well even if we’re not using all of them. What I have learned about science is that it can be very challenging and very easy to do and it can be helpful or tuff to work with people when doing science. What I have learned about myself is that I can work very well with most people and there are very few people I can’t work with. When the mentors come I would like to ask them how to use the programming better because it’s a very complicated thing to do.

Reply
ava
10/13/2011 01:57:48 am

My group has a problem with programing. I love that this project lets you create “life” in a way. I learned that Legos can turn into live things like robots. I learned that my behavior with robots is nickeling controlled like my group. Overall my group is on programing and they are respecting the robot.
I’m glade pace university is coming. I think my group and I need help with the programing. I wonder if I need to program it in inches or feet. I hope they can answer it.

Reply
Darren
10/13/2011 05:39:31 am

I think our robot group is doing a really great job of focusing on our work and not arguing. Our robot is finished and we already started programming. The hallway is 107 feet so we programmed it to go there and back. (a.k.a. 1,284 inches) I think our group is a successful one. I enjoy working with all of them

Reply
gilly
10/14/2011 08:30:02 am

i really love building with Lego's. one of the challenges my team had is choosing what sensors to keep on and which ones to take off the robot. i am proud that my robot moves instead of just sit there my group is also fun to work with. i think that how robots work is that with the Lego's they have to be really tight in each other or it would not work at all. what i learned about myself is that it's not boring to make a robot it is really interesting.

Reply
Sierra
10/19/2011 08:17:33 am

Tonight I am blogging about the Lego robotics unit we’re learning in science every Monday and Thursday. The stage my group is in right now is not yet programming but finishing up the last few kinks in our robot. One of the challenges my group has faced is working well together as a team. I think this because we sometimes cannot see eye to eye and can’t always agree with decisions that we make. What I’ve loved about the Lego robotics project the most is being able to actually create our own robots. I think I enjoy this the most because it has been so exiting knowing that eventually we will be able to program the robot to make it do things.
What I have learned about science by using legos is how to build the robot and seeing what parts go where and predicting what it will look like in the end. I think this because everyone is helping out where they can and it’s great to see it all come together. I’m really exited about the PACE University mentors coming to see our robots so far and help us with them. I think that something we would probably want work on is making all the pieces stay on the robot. Another thing I would like us to work on is the brain programming and making the robot actually move. I think this would be something they could help us with because I think that it would be good to go over the brain programming process.

Reply
leo rinaldi
10/24/2011 09:08:10 am

We had some difficult times working on our robot but it turned out really fun. Chris is very smart, Meaghan is a natural leader and Maia is funny, sometimes. I am lucky I was part of their group because they are all really nice. I also like Ms. Scollins as a teacher.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.

    Directions on how to leave a comment:
    1. You will find a "comment" button at the top of the post, directly across from the date.
    2. Once you click on that, scroll down and you will find a comment box.
    3. Please enter your name. You don't need to leave your last name. You DO NOT need to add any email or other contact information.
    4. Enter your comment in the box. (Watch for punctuation! Reread and check it over before pressing submit.)
    5. Press Submit! A message will appear stating "your comment is awaiting approval." Check back later to view your comment posted on the page!

    Archives

    June 2012
    May 2012
    February 2012
    January 2012
    December 2011
    November 2011
    October 2011
    September 2011
    August 2011

    Categories

    All